PDA

View Full Version : Wireless Router password & username



jayal
11-06-2013, 12:09 AM
have installed a new wireless router and wish to change the Connection Request user name and password, usually admin, admin
There is also a connection request port, 5 numbers,and a connection request URL, existing is
http://125.236.161.100:30005/
When I enter the new User name and Password there is a request for a Connection Request URL. Should I enter 192.168.1.1? if not, what?
can anyone help me out with this please

WarNox
11-06-2013, 08:28 AM
I'm guessing the connection request is if you want an external party to look at your router, in which case you give them the URL and the u/n + pwd. There should be another option (usually under management or administration) to change the u/n + pwd for the router, which you get prompted for when you browse to to the internal interface's IP (192.168.1.1.).

jayal
11-06-2013, 09:47 AM
it's an ADSL2+Wireless router N300 in case this info is necessary

jayal
11-06-2013, 09:29 PM
can I call on Chilling Silence?
read through your critique, last year some time, re routers and bought a Netcomm ADSL2+ Wireless N300 Modem router, NB604N, couldn't be more content. I had the idea "who the hell would want to access my router?" Apparently some do, so decided to safe guard this one, hence the original post, Can you help me out here please?

Chilling_Silence
11-06-2013, 11:37 PM
Wait sorry what was the question?

jayal
12-06-2013, 11:43 AM
Thanks for replying
Have installed a new wireless router, it's an ADSL2+Wireless N300 Modem Router and wish to change the Connection Request user name and password, usually admin, admin
There is also a connection request port, 5 numbers,and a connection request URL, existing is
http://125.236.161.100:30005/
When I enter the new User name and Password there is a request for a Connection Request URL. Should I enter 192.168.1.1? if not, what?

Chilling_Silence
12-06-2013, 12:11 PM
Yeah http://125.236.161.100:30005/ is for accessing it remotely
You should use something like http://192.168.1.1 or http://192.168.1.254 (One ought to work)
You can go under the Management section and change the Admin password

If that's not working, then I'd suggest just factory resetting the device and starting again :)

jayal
12-06-2013, 12:36 PM
Great, thanks for that, seems pretty simple I know, but when you now very little i think it pays to be sure. 192.168.1.1