PDA

View Full Version : Networking Problem

28-11-2001, 12:46 PM
I have 2 pcs running win98se networked through a 10/100mb hub.

I had to reinstall windows on one because of a problem and I'm having trouble getting the network setup again.

I've got all the right protocols installed, made a name to identify, printer/file sharing is on and both pcs have ips assigned.

Anyways I can find the other pc through find/computer but when I dbl click to access it I get a not accessible, user on logged on msg, this is weird because on the other pc they both show up in network neighbourhood and the other pc is accessible.

Sorry for the lack of details but I'm new to networking.

Any ideas?

28-11-2001, 01:08 PM
hi m r

you may possibly find one is set to 'user level' access control and the other to 'share level' Both should be on share level access control.

28-11-2001, 01:43 PM
Also I think you need to actually make something shared on the computer you are trying to access.

28-11-2001, 02:05 PM
Can the pc with the problem see it'self in network neibhourhood?

28-11-2001, 02:10 PM
No it cant all I have in network neighbourhood is entire network and when i dbl click on that i get network is not accessible error msg, however on other pc both show up in network neighbourhood and are accessible.

thnx for replies.

28-11-2001, 02:56 PM
How similar are the two PCs?

You could try opening the Network Properties on the PC that's working okay, and copy ALL the settings through to the other PC, and see if that works. If its a network problem, that should solve it (if you've set domains, you'll probably need to change it, but everything else should pretty much be the same setting.)

28-11-2001, 05:32 PM
If you're going to use IP addresses - make sure they're in the reserved private range!

If you're looking at Class C: addresses the valid range is 192.168.0.0 to 192.168.255.255

Anything 192.x OUTSIDE that range can clash with a registered IP address on the net

28-11-2001, 07:42 PM