PDA

View Full Version : GMail error



Lurking
10-05-2013, 11:34 AM
"An unknown error has occurred. Subject 'Re: Reply to your post "Apples"', Account: 'pop.gmail.com', Server: 'smtp.gmail.com', Protocol: SMTP, Port: 465, Secure(SSL): Yes, Error Number: 0x800CCC0B"

It's been such a long time since I have had the above error and have tossed out the solution to it.

Have tried 587 and 25 in the SMTP box without success.

Pop3 is 995

Any help appreciated.

Lurking.

Ps. trying to get rid of an over supply of apples, you might have guessed.

lurks.

Speedy Gonzales
10-05-2013, 12:26 PM
If youre using Outlook, is my server requires authentication ticked??

Chilling_Silence
10-05-2013, 12:30 PM
There was a minor outage this morning for about 3-4 minutes. Should be resolved now :)

WarNox
10-05-2013, 12:47 PM
There was a minor outage this morning for about 3-4 minutes. Should be resolved now :)

How does one come across this information? Last I checked Google didn't have a technical team in NZ :P

Lurking
10-05-2013, 01:05 PM
Thanks guys: found the note paper after all, amongst my notebook notes of ISP addresses.

Ticked the boxes required and email "sent" but the following now appears:

"Unable to logon to the server using Secure Password Authentication. Account: 'pop.gmail.com', Server: 'pop.gmail.com', Protocol: POP3, Server Response: '-ERR not supported fm3pf4714062pab.27', Port: 995, Secure(SSL): Yes, Server Error: 0x800CCC90, Error Number: 0x800CCC18"

That ref: +fb5af3e2e8c207 <les.hibbard@gmail.com> is something new and being used by Freecycle: http://www.freecycle.org/group/NZ/South%20Island.

Might have tell them they are stuffing up my GMail account, lol.

Lurking.

Ps. Speedy will untick that SPA & MSRAuth. boxes as they were not ticked on the notes.

lurks.

Lurking
10-05-2013, 01:22 PM
The "my server requires authentication" box does require a "tick", unusual as the notes don't display this.

Must be part of the Yahoo c o c k - u p over spam emails.

Thks again.

Lurking.

Chilling_Silence
10-05-2013, 01:56 PM
How does one come across this information? Last I checked Google didn't have a technical team in NZ :P

When you're on it, and it doesn't work, so you try from home (Via LogMeIn) on another providers connection and it still doesn't work... Then 2 minutes later it all comes back on its own, you kinda just put two and two together :D

WarNox
10-05-2013, 03:00 PM
I see, I though there was some official Google downtime report available :D

Chilling_Silence
10-05-2013, 03:12 PM
http://www.google.com/appsstatus

WarNox
10-05-2013, 03:16 PM
Yea saw that, but there was no outage for this morning on there.