PDA

View Full Version : HDD vs SSD



Tony
07-05-2013, 10:42 PM
I'm suspecting that the disk that contains among other things my C: drive is on the way out. It is a 250gb Seagate conventional HDD. If I were to buy a 250gb SSD would I be able to do an image copy from the old drive and then just swap them over? Or isn't it as simple as that?

TIA

8ftmetalhaed
07-05-2013, 11:12 PM
there are tools to transfer files from a hdd to an SSD, but i think you'd truly appreciate the speed difference with a full reinstall. Especialy if the drive is old and aging. Are you sure you've got the right interface for it though? If your current drive is IDE you'll need a motherboard with SATA ports to use an SSD.

dugimodo
07-05-2013, 11:23 PM
It is not as simple as that no. While it is possible there are a few tweaks for SSD's and they should really be used in AHCI mode to take advantage of all the features assuming your system has AHCI as an option.
It is possible though if you really don't want to start over. A fresh install is the best option if you can manage it.

Tony
07-05-2013, 11:29 PM
The dodgy drive is SATA, so that won't be a problem. HDDlife says the drive has had 21608 hours,(2.5 years), and it also says it is overheating. See attachment. I want to avoid a full reinstall if I can as I have so much else going on that I'll find it difficult to find the time.

4974

pablo d
07-05-2013, 11:47 PM
What OS you using? Windows 7 and 8 are best for SSD (earlier versions can't issue the TRIM command AFAIK) and what motherboard have you got? Some obscure ones don't support SSDs at all.

Tony
08-05-2013, 07:52 AM
Win 7 Professional and mobo is ASUS M3A-H/HDMI.

Tony
09-06-2013, 11:09 PM
I thought people might like to know that the drive I thought was failing was overheating. On closer inspection I found that the front fan filter was blocked with 5 years worth of accumulated fluff. Cleaned it out and the drive temperature hasn't exceeded 40 since. D'oh!

Bobh
10-06-2013, 02:11 PM
I recently bought a 240 Gb Intel SSD. The disk came with Intel Data Migration software. I did however use Paragon's Migrate OS to SSD programme. Migrating the the operating system to the new SSD was a breeze.

Tony
10-06-2013, 02:23 PM
That's useful to know.Thanks.