PDA

View Full Version : Exception!



NZHawk
01-05-2013, 01:07 PM
Acer TraveMate 7730

doesn't boot

boots to a black screen:

Exception! --> #PF Page Fault
Error code: 0x2

Can someone help me with this.
Thank you

Speedy Gonzales
01-05-2013, 01:34 PM
What version of windows is it?? Since you cant do anything, I would test the ram first

NZHawk
01-05-2013, 01:40 PM
it won't get that far.
I changed the boot options to CD drive to run a ram test
it won't even access it
just come up with the above error

I am assuming Win 7 - label is faded can't read

Speedy Gonzales
01-05-2013, 01:43 PM
Make sure the ram is in properly, or try changing it. If you've got some spare sticks

NZHawk
01-05-2013, 01:50 PM
Is it necessary to clean the contact points on the ram?
If so what is the best procedure?

Speedy Gonzales
01-05-2013, 01:55 PM
Eraser

NZHawk
01-05-2013, 02:02 PM
cleaned the ram,
reseated just one - boot failed with same error
same results for other stick & trying in the another

no ram: just a black screen - no beeping

will look to see if I have some identical ram

NZHawk
01-05-2013, 02:25 PM
tried other sticks of ram: same error

Speedy Gonzales
01-05-2013, 02:30 PM
Remove the hdd / put it in a desktop, then scan it with a virus scanner. See if its got malware

NZHawk
01-05-2013, 02:31 PM
ok

NZHawk
01-05-2013, 04:17 PM
finished the scan with Malwarebytes and clean - no infections

Speedy Gonzales
01-05-2013, 04:21 PM
I would use a virus scanner too. mbam wont pick up everything. You could try using a repair cd/dvd, if it lets you do something. See what it can do

NZHawk
01-05-2013, 04:25 PM
will try a virus scanner

booting from repair cd: it doesn't seem to want to boot from the cd, it doesn't get that far in its process

Speedy Gonzales
01-05-2013, 04:32 PM
When it boots can you select safe mode before the screen goes black? Thats if windows is on it

NZHawk
01-05-2013, 04:36 PM
will give it a try after the virus scan - thanks

Speedy Gonzales
01-05-2013, 04:40 PM
Looks like a stuffed inverter can cause this problem. Connect it to a monitor if its got VGA or a connection on it. See what happens

NZHawk
01-05-2013, 04:49 PM
Microsoft Security Essentials has found some infections - but not completed yet.
If the inverter is the problem - sounds like a job for ACER.

wainuitech
01-05-2013, 05:16 PM
Where you wrote in Post #3
I changed the boot options to CD drive often isn't enough, generally when its starting you have to tap a different key to select the boot device, look but its often F12, then select CD

If MSSE has found some infections then you more than likely have more than its finding. MSSE has turned into a piece of software that misses a LOT these days.

Currently got a PC here, Had MSSE on it, yet Nod32 found 8,Super antispyware found 9 , the New Spybot2 found 65, BTW they were run the reverse order listed above.

Just some Info-- the new Spybot2 has a lot of good features to find all sorts of troubles relating to malware :)

NZHawk
01-05-2013, 05:19 PM
infection found nothing major: Adware: W32/PriceGong

running online ESET scan now

NZHawk
01-05-2013, 06:01 PM
still scanning - will be letting it run over night
Thank you for your help - will pick up in the morning.

NZHawk
02-05-2013, 12:29 PM
online ESET scan: clean
BitDefender Internet Security scan: clean

any more suggestions or should I go with stuffed inverter?

Speedy Gonzales
02-05-2013, 01:14 PM
Connect it to a monitor if that works it's probably the inverter

wainuitech
02-05-2013, 01:17 PM
Did you plug in another monitor as Speedy posted to check if it is he inverter ?

Also if you have one, throw in a different HDD, preferably blank and see if it boots through the BIOS and finally gets to unable to boot disk error message.

If it boots and displays the BIOS on another HDD, then theres a problem either with the OS or the other hard Drive.

If it wont display on with a Monitor, or wont go any further with another HDD, it could be an inverter or motherboard problem as well.

Try a monitor first thats the easiest and quickest.

NZHawk
02-05-2013, 01:42 PM
thank you - will move ahead with your suggestions

NZHawk
02-05-2013, 01:58 PM
External monitor reflects the same error.
Going to try another hdd next

same error with another hdd

wainuitech
02-05-2013, 02:07 PM
Possible motherboard failure.

NZHawk
02-05-2013, 02:18 PM
I agree - Thank you for your help