PDA

View Full Version : Linux issues...

21-11-2001, 04:12 PM
Hi,

I'm new to linux, and I'm using mandrake 8.0. Any help you can give me on the basics of linux would be much appreciated. I've got as far as surfing the web, clearing email, and using office. I want to know how to install things that aren't on the two install cd's. for example I'd like to install the quake3 demo that was on one of the PCworld cd's. When I opened the file from the cd it brought up a windows asking for the install directory and all that kind of thing. It suggested putting it into a certain directory, but then contradicted itself in saying that I had no write permissions on that directory, nor on the binary directory. Can I fix that by installing it as the root user? the other difficulties I seem to always encounter are when I download some file or other that looks nifty I click on the file I downloaded which usually ends in .tar.gz, and it opens a directory with all the files of that program in it. I then look at the install text file and the readme files and they say things like 'check the makefile, then type 'make install''. Where do I type these instructions, and what is 'check makefile'? Check for what?

Thx in advance, and if there's anything about linux you think I need to know, spit it out, I'm learning here!!!

21-11-2001, 04:58 PM
I assume you're in KDE
on the menu goto applications|file tools and load 'filemanager (superuser mode)'

Then you won't get rights errors when installing software.

21-11-2001, 10:15 PM
You will have to log in as root to install almost everything, its a security thing.

The .tar.gz you got is probably source code which I would avoid until your more familar with linux.
Stick with RPMs until your more familiar with linux (try www.rpmfind.net).

21-11-2001, 10:15 PM
hi,