PDA

View Full Version : Doom crashes



21-11-2001, 02:53 PM
Hi!

My old faithful Doom game seems to have given up the ghost, but I can't figure out why.

It will play for a couple of minutes but then it freezes (with the sound of the chainsaw still running) and I have to push the restart button to get my computer back (ctrl+alt+delete doesn't do it!).

I've tried re-installing my graphics adapter driver, I even tried installing Windows ME (it first happened running Win 98SE), I've run three thorough scan disks and a defrag, then tried re-installing Doom. Still happens!

Can anyone help? I run it on a 466 Celeron, Win ME with an S3 3D video card. (This machine always used to run Doom fine.) I have plenty of spare disk space.

I would appreciate your comments

Joe

21-11-2001, 03:17 PM
Seems like a memory problem... doesn't doom run from DOS???

21-11-2001, 03:39 PM
Ah yes Doom, I've been playing that since '94
Format a floppy and copy command.com, mouse.com and himem.sys to the disk.
create an autoexec.bat file for the floppy and write lh mouse
create a text file one the floppy called config.sys, in it write
device = himem.sys

boot from that and have fun!

21-11-2001, 06:39 PM
Doom should run.

But you may want to get a copy of The Ulimate Doom for Win95, which is Doom plus an extra level with a Win95 loader.

Or another way is to get GLDoom ,if you have an OpenGL video card, as it uses Direct X 3 or greater.

If you have a look around the Doom sites,you should find versions of Doom people have altered to run on Windows.

Try www.doomworld.com

22-11-2001, 03:48 PM
Joe
Stop playing games and do some work!

But yes, get the win95 version, way easier.

And anyway, wait for the new Castle Wolfentstein. I can't wait.

Robo

22-11-2001, 03:59 PM
Thanks everyone. I guess I should have said, it is the Doom95 version.

The mystery deepens.

Doesn't anyone have any idea of what might be causing it?

Help! I was just getting through this section ...

Joe

22-11-2001, 04:00 PM
Thanks everyone. I guess I should have said, it is the Doom95 version.

The mystery deepens.

Doesn't anyone have any idea of what might be causing it?

Help! I was just getting through this section ...

Joe

22-11-2001, 04:03 PM
Thanks everyone. I guess I should have said, it is the Doom95 version.

The mystery deepens.

Doesn't anyone have any idea of what might be causing it?

Help! I was just getting through this section ...

Joe