PDA

View Full Version : 2Wire TNZ 4028 - Win 8 limited wireless & Apple TV won't download video



myke
07-04-2013, 12:45 PM
2Wire TNZ 4028 - Win 8 limited wireless & Apple TV won't download video , but will play trailers.
I'll ready to give up on this Router. Within minutes of trying to download a iTunes movie on a Windows 8 PC (with HDMI), the wireless drops
to Limited access. and no data downloads.

I can watch trailers on an Apple TV, but can't download an actual movie.
I have paid for content on both devices that I can't watch...

Other devices in the home seem to be ok, iOS, OSX and Win 7. Maybe a bit slow at times and the odd reconnect needed.

I have
- flushed DNS.
- Factory reset the router
- Dropped security to WEP or evening none.
- Change channels, checked the neighbours channels.
- ipconfig /release (I think)
- ipconfig /renew
- Checked that the wireless card wasn't set to save power
- disabled other unused networking cards on the Win 8 machine.

Maybe up to 7-8 devices in the home, that use wireless... but not always all on at the same time.

Is it time to give up and go buy another router?
If so, recommenations? We are currently with telecom. Fibre isn't here yet, but would you bother getting a router that can cover ADSL2 AND fIBRE?
Thanks in advanced.

myke
07-04-2013, 12:49 PM
No restrictions on the router. Windows Firewall allows iTunes traffic.

myke
07-04-2013, 01:07 PM
I just tested with just cable access.
Guess what? Within 30 seconds of trying to download on iTunes - the cable goes to limited access.

Hmmmm...

The Error Guy
07-04-2013, 01:29 PM
So none of the devices work and it happens with both wired and wireless? Sounds like a dodgy router.

Can you swap it out with something that's a bit more reliable to test with?

Chilling_Silence
07-04-2013, 03:38 PM
I'd agree, time to give up on the router and get a good one :D

Agent_24
07-04-2013, 03:53 PM
Maybe some really retarded security "feature" ?

Or firmware bug.. have you got the latest version?

The Error Guy
07-04-2013, 05:30 PM
Yeah, if you don't have the latest firmware it might be good just to try that, could fix it. Still no go I'd look at trying to swap the router out. If swapping it out fixes the issue buy a decent router.