PDA

View Full Version : Proxy question



QW.
30-03-2013, 06:20 PM
I have been trying to setup Internet Explorer to use a proxy. Have tried it and every time I refresh IE it doesn't work.

What am I doing wrong?

Alex B
30-03-2013, 07:00 PM
How about some more details.

QW.
30-03-2013, 07:56 PM
I used this guide on wikihow and didn't have any luck at all with it. Tried it in Firefox with the same result.

http://www.wikihow.com/Enter-Proxy-Settings-in-Internet-Explorer

gary67
30-03-2013, 08:02 PM
Do you know if the proxy actually works in the first place? It could be dead

QW.
30-03-2013, 08:16 PM
Have tried Xroxy.com for a proxy

Alex B
30-03-2013, 10:38 PM
OK, so you were putting the IP in one field and the port in the other I take it, not trying to put the whole thing in the IP field.

QW.
02-04-2013, 11:13 AM
OK, so you were putting the IP in one field and the port in the other I take it, not trying to put the whole thing in the IP field.

Yes and it didn't work. Wasn't putting everything in the IP field.

Alex B
02-04-2013, 01:17 PM
Who is your ISP?

QW.
02-04-2013, 01:20 PM
Who is your ISP?

Xtra.

bevy121
02-04-2013, 02:55 PM
proxy's can be alive one minute and dead the next....

test the active state of the proxy you are using somewhere like here

http://www.samair.ru/s-proxychecker/index.php

but if it's just anonymous surfing you want to do etc, I'd suggest using Tor

https://www.torproject.org/

just download it and then run tor - it will start the Vidalia interface, then after a minute or two, a firefox type portable browser will open and you're good to go - totally anonymously

No configuration required - no proxy's to find and check