PDA

View Full Version : noob desktop build



liberator210
25-03-2013, 08:24 PM
HI,

I am currently building a new desktop but I don't know if some of the part's are compatible like the graphics cards, CPU and motherboard

does anyone know if these are compatible or know an easy way to find out ?

The parts i am using are below.

graphics cards: Nvidia Quadro fx 5800 and a gtx 660

cpu: intel I7 3930k

motherboard:Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4

any help would be apreciated

Chilling_Silence
25-03-2013, 08:35 PM
Ummmmm why those two graphics cards?!

liberator210
25-03-2013, 08:48 PM
because I need a quadro for 3d animation and a gtx 660 because the quadro only supports 2 screens

Chilling_Silence
26-03-2013, 12:24 AM
Don't bother. Just do something like this: http://www.tomshardware.com/news/Nvidia-GTX-690-Quadro-K5000,21656.html

I just saved you thousands. You're welcome ;)

SolMiester
26-03-2013, 09:01 AM
HI,

I am currently building a new desktop but I don't know if some of the part's are compatible like the graphics cards, CPU and motherboard

does anyone know if these are compatible or know an easy way to find out ?

The parts i am using are below.

graphics cards: Nvidia Quadro fx 5800 and a gtx 660

cpu: intel I7 3930k

motherboard:Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4

any help would be apreciated

You are buying a very expensive 2011 LGA socket board!...Can I ask why, do you really need that many x16 lanes?...That CPU is top of the line and the difference between that and say a 4c w\HT wouldnt be more than 15%, and you probably wouldnt notice it.....

I would suggest you get a Z77 platform which has up to 3 video output of which you can run 2 at any time and pair with the Quadro of you choice so you have the monitor numbers you require. Sound like you do graphical stuff, so I would suggest heaps of RAM and with the correct motherboard you can create a RAM drive for your scratch work. A good size SSD for O/S & program, RAM drive for scratch work and some nice big drives mirrored for storage....you certainly dont need a $400 GPU just to drive 2 monitors as current CPUs drive 2 via the motherboard...

liberator210
26-03-2013, 12:24 PM
Thanks for the advice.

A friend told me to go with that motherboard and I don't know much about building a pc so I went with it, I was also planing on getting 32gb of ram to go with it.

So if I was to go with the motherboard you suggested and a Nvidia Quadro 4000 (i got one for free)I could run 3 monitors?

SolMiester
26-03-2013, 01:00 PM
Thanks for the advice.

A friend told me to go with that motherboard and I don't know much about building a pc so I went with it, I was also planing on getting 32gb of ram to go with it.

So if I was to go with the motherboard you suggested and a Nvidia Quadro 4000 (i got one for free)I could run 3 monitors?

yes

SolMiester
26-03-2013, 01:33 PM
I would suggest this as a start, compatible 8GB dimms are not that common, however this 16GB kit is listed for 1866 speed and on the list...x 2 will give your 32GB quota. The Asrock board has several function which the ASUS\Gigabyte boards do not..and is half the price of the 2011 board.
It also has 3 video output on board for choice...pair with your Quadro for 3 LCD panels as I have..

http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Z77%20Extreme4/

The i7 I selected is also half the price of the CPU you have selected.

4881

wratterus
26-03-2013, 01:46 PM
Mmmm, Dominator Platinum, shiny... :drool

4882

Chilling_Silence
26-03-2013, 02:10 PM
4882

:drool :drool

SolMiester
26-03-2013, 02:28 PM
LOL, poster may have to get a nice windowed chassis for the build!..Just thinking, 8-12GB for O/S, rest would make a very fast drive for CAD products...

nedkelly
26-03-2013, 09:33 PM
I will let you know how it runs once it is built, I know OP (family)

SanChippy
27-03-2013, 05:58 PM
I was also planing on getting 32gb of ram to go with it.
Isn't that overkill?

nedkelly
27-03-2013, 07:52 PM
Not for graphic design