PDA

View Full Version : Choosing an Ultrabook



WarNox
05-03-2013, 08:56 PM
Hey,

I posted a thread about a month ago about buying an IBM ThinkPad T530 but have since changed requirements and now prefer to get something smaller (thinner/lighter).

The almost perfect option for my requirements seems to be the IBM ThinkPad T430u (http://www.lenovo.com/products/us/laptop/thinkpad/t-series/t430u/) or the HP EliteBook Folio 9470m (http://www8.hp.com/us/en/products/laptops/product-detail.html?oid=5271146) but they both only have a 1366x768 max resolution. The T430s does get a better screen but it's too big and the X1 Carbon is too thin so doesn't have a physical NIC which is something I also want.

Can someone recommend any other ultrabooks which meet the requirements below?
1. Have at least a 14" (1600x900) screen
2. Supports at least 8GB ram
3. International Warranty
5. Cost up to about $2500 with a 2-3 year warranty

An SSD drive would be good but I think I can live without it.

Thanks for any help.

plod
05-03-2013, 09:36 PM
The MacBook airs does the screen res but only 13". And as Ethernet adaptor, oh and in budget

Alex B
05-03-2013, 09:50 PM
Once you get an SSD living with out one is not an option.

icow
05-03-2013, 10:06 PM
http://pricespy.co.nz/product.php?p=1591736 http://pricespy.co.nz/product.php?p=1563431 or MBA as mentioned above.

nmercer
05-03-2013, 10:09 PM
Lenovo Helix

WarNox
05-03-2013, 11:12 PM
That Gigabyte does look nice. I'll go past Computer Lounge tomorrow and see if they've got one on display.

The Helix is a bit small.

Not sure about the MBA, I'm rather accustomed to Windows now days :) It also costs more and as someone said it's only 13".

plod
05-03-2013, 11:22 PM
That Gigabyte does look nice. I'll go past Computer Lounge tomorrow and see if they've got one on display.

The Helix is a bit small.

Not sure about the MBA, I'm rather accustomed to Windows now days :) It also costs more and as someone said it's only 13".fair enough, as long as you don't you cost as an excuse, the air is cheaper

Alex B
06-03-2013, 12:28 AM
Nothing stoping you running Windows on the Air.

nmercer
06-03-2013, 07:51 AM
I don't think you can get the Air with 8GB of RAM also it doesn't have an Ethernet port without a dongle that the OP mentioned

plod
06-03-2013, 08:01 AM
I don't think you can get the Air with 8GB of RAM also it doesn't have an Ethernet port without a dongle that the OP mentionedyou can and correct

WarNox
06-03-2013, 10:40 PM
I think I've decided on the Gigabyte and will get in by the end of the month.

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4399#sp

It's about $2200 from Computer Lounge. The 128GB mSATA SSD + 750GB model.

Cheers for the help!