PDA

View Full Version : Boot up problem - Gigabyte - Loading Operating System.......



Digby
07-01-2013, 10:10 AM
Hi Guys
I just gave me desktop its annual vacuum clean blow out!

And had a heart attack when I tried to re-start it.

It got as far as "Loading Operating System" and stopped there.
I checked all the cables etc.
Still the same

So I tried the F12 Boot Up options on the Gigabyte startup screen.

I went through the options and it started up fine!

But then when I shut down and restarted as a test it came of with Loading Operating system again.

So I have to keep going through this f12 procedure.

Two things

What could have caused this to happen?

How can I lock in this setting ?

Thanks

Speedy Gonzales
07-01-2013, 10:15 AM
Are you using the hdd/s in RAID?? It looks like it can hang if you are. Also, make sure the hdd is the bootdisk in the BIOS. An external hdd may also cause this. Unplug it when you boot, then connect it after

Digby
07-01-2013, 10:34 AM
No not RAID

But yes the Boot disk order in the BIOS needed fixing.

I wonder what caused it to lose this?

Thanks Speedy

Speedy Gonzales
07-01-2013, 10:37 AM
You may have plugged something else in like a USB flash drive?? Or something bootable?

Bryan
07-01-2013, 11:20 AM
Have you opened the box before?

Is there some setting that automatically resets the boot order if the box is opened - ie a security setting?

KarameaDave
07-01-2013, 11:36 AM
How old is the CMOS battery?

Alex B
07-01-2013, 07:42 PM
Have you opened the box before?

Is there some setting that automatically resets the boot order if the box is opened - ie a security setting?

Only ever seen that on enterprise grade systems, usually it just cranks the fans right up if the case is open. Some also have a case lock on them. Never have I see one mess with boot order.

Digby
07-01-2013, 09:47 PM
Yes I have opened the box lots of times, swapping hard drives etc

And I suppose the mbo and cmos battery are neatly 2 years old.

KarameaDave
09-01-2013, 11:00 AM
CMOS battery 'should' last a fair bit longer than that.
BIOS settings changing or not sticking is usually a symptom of
a failing CMOS battery, though.
You could try replacing it, they are not expensive.