PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade to SSD



bk T
24-12-2012, 11:24 PM
Going to upgrade my other PC to SSD. It's currently running Win 7 Home Prem - just did a clean install few weeks ago and it's running sweet as.

At the moment, the OS drive is a WD blue 1 TB with 2 partitions, C:\ 400GB and the rest D:\

My SSD will be (haven't bought yet, it's either Intel or OCZ) 120GB. Can I clone my C:\ with the 100MB system reserve to the SSD? Possible to clone a larger drive to a much smaller drive?

Will Active@ handle the tasks?

Chilling_Silence
25-12-2012, 02:01 AM
Its possible, but you should install it clean on the SSD, Windows 7 picks up a few things during install and I'm unsure if it notices *afterwards* that it's on a SSD if you image it across.

Otherwise though, yes, it's definitely possible. I went from a 90GB SSD to a 60GB SSD on my PC for a while.

piva
25-12-2012, 07:37 PM
Going to upgrade my other PC to SSD. It's currently running Win 7 Home Prem - just did a clean install few weeks ago and it's running sweet as.

At the moment, the OS drive is a WD blue 1 TB with 2 partitions, C:\ 400GB and the rest D:\

My SSD will be (haven't bought yet, it's either Intel or OCZ) 120GB. Can I clone my C:\ with the 100MB system reserve to the SSD? Possible to clone a larger drive to a much smaller drive?

Will Active@ handle the tasks?
there was a good article about 6 months ago about how to upgrade. It included instructions on how to shrink your existing partition to the size of your SSD so you can clone it and then how to tell windows it is using a SSD. You will find the article esily on line.
REgards

bk T
25-12-2012, 09:07 PM
In this forum?

piva
27-12-2012, 09:25 AM
In this forum?
NO I think it was in Pcworld archives., If you cant find it just look for "MIGRATE TO SSD" AND YOU WILL GET LOTS OF INFO

bk T
27-12-2012, 09:53 AM
Thanks folks.

Got my SSD yesterday and did a 'clean' install of Win7. Everything went through silky smoothly. :) , unlike like my previous experience with Win 8 on the other machine, which caused so much hassle, just not the same.

A better OS is a better OS. :)

8ftmetalhaed
27-12-2012, 05:52 PM
enjoy your ridicu-fast SSD. it's so nice using one over a mechanical, especially for boots and reboots.

Chilling_Silence
28-12-2012, 12:11 AM
Sweeeeeeeet! Good to hear it! :D

bk T
28-12-2012, 10:06 AM
OK, folks. This Intel 520 series 120GB SSD doesn't live up to our expection. :D It's noticeably not as fast as my OCZ Vertex4 in my main machine and we downloaded CrystalDisk to bench mark both drives, here are the snapshots:

46244625

OCZ is the faster snapshot and Intel is the Slower snapshot.

OCZ is installed in Asus P8Z68 v Pro running Win 8, and Intel is installed in Gigabyte X58A-UD3R

I am happy with my OCZ SSD but the Intel is a big disappointment. It is connected correctly to the SATA3 (6Gb) SATA header and TRIM is enabled.

Faulty drive? Should I RMA it?

Cheers.

bk T
28-12-2012, 10:39 AM
Update: Gigabyte MB is running Win 7.

Chilling_Silence
28-12-2012, 11:00 AM
Nah they don't always do the "max" speed, it's more of a "peak" rather than a "get this all the time"

bk T
28-12-2012, 01:17 PM
So, you reckon that benchmark test is acceptable?

But the difference so much from what they claim, i.e. "Seq Performance (MB/sec) Up to 550 / 520" ; only achieve ~60%.

Chilling_Silence
28-12-2012, 01:51 PM
I dunno, I reckon you'll never get the full amount, so just how much of a hit on that you want to accept is up to you.

bk T
28-12-2012, 03:52 PM
Looks like a defective disk, (to me).

Is there any experts on this issue in this forum?

dugimodo
28-12-2012, 04:57 PM
The "up to" statement means just that, to test you'd have to find out the exact set of conditions and test used to determine the numbers. I tried my samsung 830 out of interest and it's in between your two results but I have no Idea if crystalmark is a reliable program to test with.
Samsung 830 256GB
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
CrystalDiskMark 3.0.2 Shizuku Edition (C) 2007-2012 hiyohiyo
Crystal Dew World : http://crystalmark.info/
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
* MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

Sequential Read : 361.911 MB/s
Sequential Write : 363.626 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 284.484 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 343.233 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 20.878 MB/s [ 5097.1 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 56.450 MB/s [ 13781.7 IOPS]
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 188.466 MB/s [ 46012.2 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 128.151 MB/s [ 31286.8 IOPS]

Test : 1000 MB [C: 75.8% (180.6/238.4 GB)] (x5)
Date : 2012/12/28 16:33:26
OS : Windows 7 Home Premium Edition SP1 [6.1 Build 7601] (x64)

And just out of curiosity, an intel 320 series 120GB in a cheap USB 3.0 enclosure
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
CrystalDiskMark 3.0.2 Shizuku Edition (C) 2007-2012 hiyohiyo
Crystal Dew World : http://crystalmark.info/
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
* MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

Sequential Read : 216.201 MB/s
Sequential Write : 137.952 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 93.747 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 139.971 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 17.473 MB/s [ 4266.0 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 40.280 MB/s [ 9833.9 IOPS]
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 18.763 MB/s [ 4580.8 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 60.400 MB/s [ 14746.1 IOPS]

Test : 1000 MB [J: 95.2% (106.4/111.8 GB)] (x5)
Date : 2012/12/28 16:44:35
OS : Windows 7 Home Premium Edition SP1 [6.1 Build 7601] (x64)

The intel looks much slower on paper, in practice though as an OS disk the two feel pretty much the same. Benchmarks aren't everything.

bk T
29-12-2012, 01:42 PM
Did some research and found that the issue could be the Marvell SATA 6.0 Gb/s controller which apparently doesn't support the full speed of SSD drives. Why Marvell couldn't resolve this with a firmware/driver to address this issue and why SSD manufacturers don't disclose this to the public?

Or, there is a fix available already?

Cheers

bk T
30-12-2012, 09:36 AM
dugimoto, you have a Marvell 9128 SATA III 6.0 Gb/s disk controller too? If your MB has a Intel SATA3 , try on the Intel one and see any improvement?

dugimodo
30-12-2012, 10:07 AM
Might do not sure, there are 4 SATA 3 ports and I think the chipset only has 2.
However I don't want to mess with it, I have 7 hard drives and rearranging them screws things up.

bk T
30-12-2012, 11:58 AM
Your motherboard user manual should tell you that.

Don't try it if you're not confident in doing so.