PDA

View Full Version : Wireless Signal Extension



DeSade
17-12-2012, 12:54 AM
I have a Orcon Genius router and I have discovered the signal cannot cover the entirety of this new house.
The front bed room and Lounge are not covered, which equals a distance of about 15 meters.

Can anyone please suggest a product that is 'Known' to work with the Genius to extend the signal.
I would rather not spend the cash and find the item does not do what I need it to do.

wainuitech
17-12-2012, 08:37 AM
Ive put in several of the Netgear WN3000RP extenders, all on different Routers and all worked. Some will auto setup, others need to be done manually from a laptop ( or similar) and a ethernet cable, once set uplug them, but its simple.
Never tried on on a Orcon Genius router , but cant see any reason why it wont work.

Advertised from Ascent http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=397699

PPp
17-12-2012, 02:29 PM
Start Cheap ! Make one of these: http://lifehacker.com/5839243/use-an-aluminum-can-as-a-wi+fi-extender It worked for me. Starting a project by downing a beer has too be good!!

DeSade
17-12-2012, 02:56 PM
The Genius does not have a visible antenna.

The Error Guy
17-12-2012, 03:21 PM
Make it visible :devil:

We just got ours, I'm not sure how their stock hardware will keep up. I'll let it run for a year but after their contract expires I'll look into replacing it. I wanted to use my own equipment but the orcs at orcon said it won't work. I'm guessing that's the VoIP part though, from what I know the genius is a glorified switch + VoIP and AP(or it might be a router, not sure)

Anyway, if possible I'll be looking at replacing it sooner or later. Probably sooner if it doesn't perform well under load, which in past experience has been every ISP issued piece of hardware except for the dynalink modem orcon gave us, despite running hot enough to nearly melt itself it has run brilliantly (although the 5" fans probably saved it :P ) Not the flashest modem but it does the job well. I do have hopes for the Genius though, apparently it isn't too bad.

Normally I'd crack the little black sucker open and see what we could do to crank that signal out but fibre hasn't been installed yet and we are not yet signed into the contract, I don't want to tamper with it before a bunch or Chorus + orcon chaps come out to install it :D If you do pop it open however, soldering a new high gain (16DBi perhaps?) antennae on should give you a significant boost. They are relatively cheap to buy (maybe $50 or less from ebay? I haven't looked) Although that is a slightly ugly solution (might not look pretty)

Another option is to have routers bridging (passing on) the signal, although because the wireless signal has to be transmitted AND recieved simultaneously (the bridge will operate in half duplex mode) as well as complete and extra hop it could impact a bit on performance. For general browsing it really should be fine but streaming, some HD or gaming content might get a little patchy. Not sure though since I don't have extensive experience with a bridged/extended network.

Another option is a better AP connected to one of the geniuses ports or using a power line adapter (not necessarily this one, but something similar http://www.ebay.com/itm/Networking-Ethernet-Over-AC-Power-Line-Adapter-Kit-/190583452209?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2c5fa8b231) to pass ethernet to another AP to extend the signal. That last option is expensive though, you're looking at say $60 for the power things + $100 for a router/AP

zqwerty
17-12-2012, 05:35 PM
You could try this if you have an old laptop lying around:

http://www.winhotspot.com/

DeSade
17-12-2012, 05:43 PM
Wouldn't I still have a distance problem with that hotspot zqwerty?

wainuitech
17-12-2012, 06:44 PM
Why not just get an extender as posted earlier, ( which is what was asked for) then theres no mucking about. They are meant to work with all Routers, its only a wireless signal at the end of the day. product Specs (http://www.netgear.co.nz/home/products/wireless-range-extenders/WN3000RP.aspx#) Shows how it works - and they do.

Last one I installed was actually located in a cupboard with a whole lot of other networking equipment as there was no power points in the hall. One other was under a hall Table, before that nothing, Laptops, iPads etc would even detect the wireless, after the extender was it averaged 80-100 % signal strength

DeSade
17-12-2012, 06:53 PM
I probably will do that Wainuitech.
I am just a bit worried that the extender needs to be close enough to the router to pick up a good signal yet far enough away to broadcast into the dead-zones.

wainuitech
17-12-2012, 06:59 PM
The Spec's link shows how it works. The only reason I use the ethernet connection is in case it cant for some reason auto set the original signal.

Personally I set them up that way - plug into a wall socket, connect the laptop, open the browser which has a wizard, it scans for available networks, you select yours - Put in a password, or use the original ( best option) - and away it goes, it will have the letters ext on it, for example yournetworkname_ext.

If you have available multi power points you can move it about to suit the best coverage.

Speedy Gonzales
17-12-2012, 07:48 PM
Or one of these (http://jaycar.co.nz/productView.asp?ID=YN8360&keywords=yn-8360&form=KEYWORD)

Koenig Tiger
20-12-2012, 03:26 PM
Just buy one of these as it totally annihilated my problem of lack of signal down one end of the house..Cisco Linksys RE1000

Truly impressed with it and been using 4 months without problem & easy to setup with lappy:

http://www.pbtech.co.nz/index.php?z=p&p=NETLKS1740258&name=CISCO-Linksys-RE1000-300Mbps-Wireless-N-range-exte

Chilling_Silence
20-12-2012, 03:35 PM
Advertised from Ascent http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=397699
Yeah they ought to work


Anyway, if possible I'll be looking at replacing it sooner or later. Probably sooner if it doesn't perform well under load, which in past experience has been every ISP issued piece of hardware except for the dynalink modem orcon gave us, despite running hot enough to nearly melt itself it has run brilliantly (although the 5" fans probably saved it :P ) Not the flashest modem but it does the job well. I do have hopes for the Genius though, apparently it isn't too bad.
It's not, it's easy to make it fall over. Ring up and tell them you've got issues with TeamSpeak3 though disconnecting you and they'll put you on a newer, more experimental version of the firmware, but it's been more reliable in the instances I've had it.
Still not the most reliable under some decent load though.


Another option is to have routers bridging (passing on) the signal, although because the wireless signal has to be transmitted AND recieved simultaneously (the bridge will operate in half duplex mode) as well as complete and extra hop it could impact a bit on performance. For general browsing it really should be fine but streaming, some HD or gaming content might get a little patchy. Not sure though since I don't have extensive experience with a bridged/extended network.
All WiFi is half-duplex, that's why all WiFi bridges effectively halve the speed you'd normally get.


Another option is a better AP connected to one of the geniuses ports or using a power line adapter (not necessarily this one, but something similar http://www.ebay.com/itm/Networking-Ethernet-Over-AC-Power-Line-Adapter-Kit-/190583452209?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2c5fa8b231) to pass ethernet to another AP to extend the signal. That last option is expensive though, you're looking at say $60 for the power things + $100 for a router/AP
Agreed. Most reliable, slightly more expensive.


I probably will do that Wainuitech.
I am just a bit worried that the extender needs to be close enough to the router to pick up a good signal yet far enough away to broadcast into the dead-zones.
Correct, it does, but they usually have semi-decent antenna and they usually also pump out more power to them too for even better range.