PDA

View Full Version : Graphics query



Driftwood
13-12-2012, 09:20 PM
Is it normal to have 2 entries for a Radeon 9600Pro showing in device manger.

Slankydudl
13-12-2012, 09:29 PM
Not normal but doesnt matter

wainuitech
13-12-2012, 11:00 PM
Seen that if the board has onboard and a graphic card.

Slankydudl
13-12-2012, 11:21 PM
On all or just some? I only have one entry.

Driftwood
14-12-2012, 09:48 AM
The mobo is Asus P5VDC-MX & does have onboard graphics.
These are not used but I can't see anywhere to disable them in the bios.
The two entries are both for the addin Radeon 9600.

It's probably always been like that, just spotted it last night while checking out a lockup problem.
Seems to be running ok again now.

Slankydudl
14-12-2012, 10:34 AM
From what i remember of when my gpu was doa you dont turn it on/off via bios but by something else such as device manager.

pctek
14-12-2012, 10:50 AM
Yes, with ATI it is normal.
Mine says:
PCI bus 4, device 0, function 0
PCI bus 3, device 0, function 0

It is an HD5970. Dual card you see....

Driftwood
14-12-2012, 02:05 PM
Thank you.

Driftwood
21-12-2012, 09:39 AM
Thought I would pull on this thread again.
As mentioned in post #5 this system is recently getting occasional lockups.
Mouse freezes & no keyboard response.
Reboot gets it going again, but sometimes it will lockup again strait away.

OS is Win XP Pro SP3
Event viewer shows a DCom error

Has been scanned with MSSE, Mbam, Spybot & Superantispyware.
Also run CCleaner.

Was wondering if this may be heat related as local temps are going up atm.
Also a Tenda W322P Wireless Adapter was recently added & is the only internet access.

Since resetting all bios settings to default, it hasn't locked up again yet.

pctek
21-12-2012, 11:34 AM
Event viewer shows a DCom error

Since resetting all bios settings to default, it hasn't locked up again yet.

Event Viewer doesn't always show the current problem.
So you fixed it then - something it didn't like in the BIOS then.....

SolMiester
21-12-2012, 11:39 AM
Is it normal to have 2 entries for a Radeon 9600Pro showing in device manger.
Yes, if it has 2 outputs and the o/s is XP, W7 will show just 1 GPU

Driftwood
21-12-2012, 01:02 PM
Event Viewer doesn't always show the current problem.
So you fixed it then - something it didn't like in the BIOS then.....

Time will tell I guess.
Only changes in there would have been, first boot device & power settings.
I notice the CPU fan is running faster now with the smartfan disabled.
This system is not used a lot & the problem dosen't show up unless it is.
What I mean is, it won't lock up if it's just left running.
I am suspicious of the wireless card as the problem was not there prior to it's addition.

Agent_24
21-12-2012, 03:43 PM
Yes, if it has 2 outputs and the o/s is XP, W7 will show just 1 GPU

Yes, perfectly normal. My 9600XT does the same.


I am suspicious of the wireless card as the problem was not there prior to it's addition.

So take it out and see.

For the record, the system my 9600XT is in was locking up too, fixed it by cleaning the contacts on the video card. But with the recent addition of the WiFi card it's more of a suspect.

Driftwood
21-12-2012, 04:32 PM
I'll wait & see if the fault re-occurs before making any more changes.
Only problem with removing the wireless card is, then the system wouldn't be online.
The reason for adding the card was because the system is not handy to a wired conection.
Only other wireless card available here is the one that was replaced. One of the early Dick Smith XH9946.

Agent_24
21-12-2012, 06:04 PM
Got the latest drivers for it?

Driftwood
21-12-2012, 08:12 PM
That is a grey area.
The ones that came with the new card on the mini cd supposedly for xp wouldn't work at all.
Can't recall exactly why.
So went to the Tenda site & downloaded the only one listed for W322P+ V2.0.
It loaded & the card worked straight away.
There are another couple there listed for W322P+
May try them if problem persists.