PDA

View Full Version : Steam for linux question.

Nick G
11-12-2012, 04:06 PM
Getting steam for linux (beta); was wondering if there was a way to install games onto my /home partition instead of my / partition just due to space issues.

Yes, I asked on ubuntu forums, but no one was certain, so I thought I'd ask here ;)

Chilling_Silence
11-12-2012, 05:18 PM
I found mine was in ~/Steam anyways? Is yours not?

icow
11-12-2012, 05:37 PM
You can change the directory the games install onto in the PC and Mac versions of Steam so I don't see why it would be any different on Linux.

Nick G
11-12-2012, 06:18 PM
I found mine was in ~/Steam anyways? Is yours not?
Don't know tbh, I haven't installed any games yet. Was wanting to make sure it didn't happen before I downloaded any.

You can change the directory the games install onto in the PC and Mac versions of Steam so I don't see why it would be any different on Linux.
Cheers, I'll have a look. I'm still a steam newbie (don't have it on windows) so I didn't know that.

Slankydudl
11-12-2012, 06:27 PM
It will install them on the same directory you installed steam on.

Nick G
11-12-2012, 06:35 PM
Yep, you were right Chill, it does install the games on /home by default.

Cheers.

Agent_24
12-12-2012, 10:51 AM
As much as I don't like Steam, if it helps Linux in the gaming world, I guess that's a good thing.

I tried it out - you can download and install Steam on Linux (They say Ubuntu 12.04 is the only one supported but I had no problem on Xubuntu 12.04) - but you are supposed to have beta access otherwise you get an error.

Zara Baxter
12-12-2012, 10:54 AM
Sounds like it's time to do one of my regular "install Linux" binges to try it out...

(I'd be interested to hear why you don't like Steam, Agent_24, but if you'd rather pm than clutter the thread, that's fine)

Nick G
12-12-2012, 11:07 AM
As much as I don't like Steam, if it helps Linux in the gaming world, I guess that's a good thing.