PDA

View Full Version : Does 32 bit hardware have a future?



Vince
06-12-2012, 11:12 AM
I am going to have a new computer built and I want to know if it should be 32 bit or 64.

Price is a consideration; but so is longevity.
I don't want to save money now, only to have to replace the computer in 3 or 4 years, because it is obsolete!

How much of a price differential is there between the two anyway?

Chilling_Silence
06-12-2012, 11:17 AM
As it stands, there's almost zero price difference, and almost zero reason for most people to want to *stay* on 32-bit.

On top of that, you'll be hard pressed to find a CPU that doesn't support 64-bit, so it'll only be OS-level stuff when you go and install Windows.

dugimodo
06-12-2012, 11:18 AM
All new PCs are 64 bit capable, there is no 32 bit hardware for you to worry about.

Agent_24
06-12-2012, 05:43 PM
All new PCs are 64 bit capable, there is no 32 bit hardware for you to worry about.

But they can also run 32-bit operating systems too, though for most there is no real need.. UNLESS you want to run 16-bit programs natively in Windows.

The Error Guy
06-12-2012, 07:06 PM
Hardware is getting to the point where any 16 bit or 32 bit app can be easily virtualized in it's own window with minimal performance impact. I predict in the next few years there will be no 32 bit consumer PC's.

That being said, the x86 Surface Pro units are ALL 32 bit so perhaps with intel (maybe) moving SoC there will remain 32 bit for mobile devices. On the other hand, eventually we will see 64x CPU's running tablets with Windows 10 and 12gb of RAM someday.

pcuser42
06-12-2012, 07:33 PM
Hardware is getting to the point where any 16 bit or 32 bit app can be easily virtualized in it's own window with minimal performance impact. I predict in the next few years there will be no 32 bit consumer PC's.That being said, the x86 Surface Pro units are ALL 32 bit so perhaps with intel (maybe) moving SoC there will remain 32 bit for mobile devices. On the other hand, eventually we will see 64x CPU's running tablets with Windows 10 and 12gb of RAM someday. Doesn't the Surface Pro have an i5? Are you talking about the Surface RT?

The Error Guy
06-12-2012, 08:18 PM
Surface pro has an i5 indeed but that's the Surface Pro. RT runs on ARM chipsets.

inphinity
06-12-2012, 08:22 PM
Doesn't the Surface Pro have an i5? Are you talking about the Surface RT?

Correct, the Surface Pro is an i5, and runs Windows 8 Pro (x64). The Surface RT is a Tegra3 (32-bit ARM).

pcuser42
06-12-2012, 08:25 PM
EDIT: Whoops, that wasn't a mistake...

The Error Guy
06-12-2012, 09:26 PM
I thought it was 32x, my bad.... 32 is dead then haha

Iantech
07-12-2012, 12:22 AM
Does 32 bit have a future, yup, NASA will have graduated to using it in 50 yrs time putting it in rovers sent to Mars :)

linw
07-12-2012, 09:06 AM
LOL.

Vince
07-12-2012, 09:41 AM
64bit it is then.
Thanks

Speedy Gonzales
07-12-2012, 09:49 AM
Just make sure whatever you get has 64 bit drivers

Poppa John
07-12-2012, 10:41 AM
For a lot of us with 'older' computers, 32 bit may not have a future. However, 32 bit is NOW for us & unlikely to change until a new computer is required. PJ

Agent_24
07-12-2012, 12:26 PM
Just make sure whatever you get has 64 bit drivers

If anything being sold today *doesn't* have 64 bit drivers for at least Vista and up, then there's something seriously wrong.

Speedy Gonzales
07-12-2012, 12:39 PM
True, but quite a few webcams (altho they may not be new / but they haven't been discontinued) dont have Win8 x64 drivers. Some people also found out, even tho Win8 may have drivers for their printers, they dont support all the functions of the printer.

Chilling_Silence
07-12-2012, 02:28 PM
Yeah pretty much what Agent_24 said. I first went 64-bit some 10 years ago now....

Erayd
07-12-2012, 04:53 PM
I first went 64-bit some 10 years ago now....You were running an Itanium system? AMD64 processors weren't available 10 years ago; neither was the PPC970 (G5).

Chilling_Silence
09-12-2012, 02:42 PM
Hmm now that I think about it, it may have been 9 years to be more precise, I think I was 16, but still... close enough.

plod
09-12-2012, 07:07 PM
You were running an Itanium system? AMD64 processors weren't available 10 years ago; neither was the PPC970 (G5).if you count the PS2 and N64 it's been a bit longer then 10 years in the home

Vince
09-12-2012, 07:57 PM
As the author of this thread, I declare it has outlasted its purpose.
Thanks again,
that is enough.

Erayd
09-12-2012, 08:28 PM
if you count the PS2 and N64 it's been a bit longer then 10 years in the homeTrue!