PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading a Windows XP Dell Optiplex GX620's Hard Drive



RabblerouserGT
29-11-2012, 04:00 AM
So I've done a little research on this and can't come to a conclusion still.

The hard drive I have now is 127GB. And with games stacking up on top of each other and tons of music and pictures, I'm looking to replace the old 127 with something bigger.. say.. a 320 GB or even a 500 GB. Maybe even a 1 TB if I'm lucky.

However, I've heard several varying stories. "You'll have issues when formatting an HDD without Service Pack 1", "Dell's BIOs or whatever will butt in."
My Dell Recovery CD apparently comes with Service Pack 3, so the first one might be moot. I'm not sure about the second one.


My question is.. if I replaced my current hard drive, could I use a.. say.. entire 320GB/500GB harddrive as a boot drive WITHOUT the need to partition?
I don't really like having to split up my harddrive into chunks. I'd like to be able to install more games, and I'm not sure if you can install games (or anything) to a partition that isn't boot, so I'd rather keep it all boot if I can.

Backup is no issue as I have a 500GB external sitting around.

RabblerouserGT
29-11-2012, 04:28 AM
So upon further research, I found this: http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/desktop/f/3514/p/17987274/18110260.aspx#18110260

Now I'm not 100% sure if this is a green light yet, but if it is. Do I install the OS like I would any other time? Just stick the harddrive in and run the disc Dell sent me when things went wonky with the OS before?

pctek
29-11-2012, 06:58 AM
Just clone the drive you have now onto the new one.

gary67
29-11-2012, 08:40 AM
what pctek said, both WD and Seagate have cloning software on their websites

pcuser42
29-11-2012, 10:06 AM
Just clone the drive you have now onto the new one.

And then extend the partition.

Profix
29-11-2012, 10:56 AM
Agreed. Cloning is the best option. To ensure a clean clone, do a Check Disk and Defragmentation on the hard drive first. Cloning software like Norton Ghost or Acronis True Image will automatically resize the partition to the new size of the hard drive.