PDA

View Full Version : SSD good buy?



Cato
17-11-2012, 01:05 PM
Which one of these would you recommend?

http://www.pbtech.co.nz/index.php?z=p&p=HDDOCZ3122&name=OCZ-Agility2-120G-Solid-State-Drive-(SSD)-2.5-High

or

http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=16592

Or something else you'd all recommend?

Space isn't a massive concern, reasonable speed it and good price are.

WayneMiddy
17-11-2012, 02:27 PM
I have the Intel very pleased, so far no issues check specs as the Intel read/ write speed is better and the SATA bus speed is 6gb/s providing you mb supports it.

Will be interested what others have to say cheers Wayne

Alex B
17-11-2012, 02:28 PM
Intel 330 Series

Slankydudl
17-11-2012, 02:31 PM
don't get an old version ssd, kinda defeats the point.

icow
17-11-2012, 02:38 PM
Intel 330 > Agility 2. If you're going to get a OCZ drive make sure it's on the sandforce drive controller (ie Agility 4) not the marvell one. The marvell one is infamous for being bad.


These are quite good: http://www.playtech.co.nz/afawcs0139235/CATID=238/ID=19257/SID=890819242/productdetails.html (doesn't use sandforce or marvell)

Cato
17-11-2012, 02:59 PM
icow, what about this: http://www.playtech.co.nz/afawcs0139235/CATID=238/ID=17755/SID=928791630/productdetails.html

It seems to have much better specs for 25$ more?

icow
17-11-2012, 03:14 PM
Yeah the Agility 4 is a step up from the v4. Seems that the V4 is bottlenecked by a drive controller designed for SATA2 only.

http://www.techspot.com/review/566-crucial-v4-vs-ocz-agility-4-ssd/page4.html

Chilling_Silence
17-11-2012, 03:56 PM
I would suggest Agility 4 > Intel 330 > Agility 2

Slankydudl
17-11-2012, 04:14 PM
id say vertex 4 > agility 4

icow
17-11-2012, 05:45 PM
Vertex 4 at a higher pricepoint.

Vertex 4 ($175) > M4 ($170) > Agility 4 ($150) > Intel 330 ($150) OR V4 ($125) > *Legacy* SSD's > Anything on Marvell

Basically the more you spend the better the SSD is surprisingly enough.

Cato
17-11-2012, 06:00 PM
Aha, now I'm even more confused!!

According to those benchmarks Samsung is even better...

http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=16954

So... Basically... I have no idea now...

I woke up this morning wanting to get a cheap 60gb Intel 330... Now my brain hurts :(

Slankydudl
17-11-2012, 06:05 PM
if what you want is a cheap 60gb then get a cheap 60gb

Cato
17-11-2012, 10:15 PM
if what you want is a cheap 60gb then get a cheap 60gb

It's one of those things where you start thinking of better value for money and get carried away a bit.
Bigger is always better :D

Slankydudl
17-11-2012, 10:49 PM
i know how ya feel... imho if you can find it get an agility 3 they are cheap as now and perform about as good

Cato
17-11-2012, 11:50 PM
Agility 3 uses the Marvell controller which as icow said isn't the greatest.

Slankydudl
18-11-2012, 12:10 AM
Well it was a rip at the time but since prices are lower i guess you get what you pay for. It will be better than an agility 2.

howickdota
18-11-2012, 12:57 AM
I just got a 128GB samsung 830 and it's fantastic. Go for the bigger size, you won't regret it, I'm already filling it up with applications and games and appreciate the extra capacity, I would have filled up 64GB long ago.

Bobh
18-11-2012, 10:04 AM
I bought the OCZ Vertex 2 120GB 2.5" SandForce SSD SATAII on 20 September 2011 for $305 from Computer Lounge. The only regret I have is that I did not buy a larger capacity drive at a higher price.

Prices appear to have dropped on SSDs. If I was to buy a new SSD I would go for one that is at least twice the size so that I could include programmes as well as my operating system.

I have just completed a reinstall of Windows 7 onto my 120 GB SSD. This time I have placed programmes on a separate hard drive. Before the reinstall I was constantly having to free up space on the SSD.

dugimodo
18-11-2012, 11:30 AM
Go fo a brand with a good reputation and warranty and don't worry too much about performance. The Intell 330 or the Samsung 830 are both great choices.
The difference between a mechanical HDD and an SSD is very obvious when you make the change, the difference between a "slow" SSD and a "fast" SSD is in practice very difficult to notice.

For example I had an inTel 320 series 120GB SSD (still do it's in a USB 3.0 enclosure) and upgraded to a 256GB Samsung SSD.
On paper the samsung is more than twice as fast as the intel, they are at opposite ends of the graph on tom's hardwares charts. In practice though the only difference I notice is the extra space on the larger drive.
The biggest difference in day to day compuuting is the seek time and all SSD's are great at this.

Slankydudl
18-11-2012, 11:44 AM
When loading large files for 3D rendering or even large game files you can tell the difference between older ssds and current ones.

inphinity
18-11-2012, 08:23 PM
Intel 330 > Agility 2. If you're going to get a OCZ drive make sure it's on the sandforce drive controller (ie Agility 4) not the marvell one. The marvell one is infamous for being bad.

Both the Vertex4 and Agility4 use Indilinx controllers (which are great). Oh, and the Vertex2 and Agility2 both used Sandforce controllers.

icow
18-11-2012, 08:31 PM
My bad, from memory the controller just caused the drives to brick themselves and caused blue screens due to a firmware bug. Must have got it confused with another drive.

Slankydudl
18-11-2012, 08:34 PM
i thought they fixed that?

Chilling_Silence
18-11-2012, 09:01 PM
Nope, I've suffered that on one of my 3 drives, so has one of my friends...

JJJJJ
19-11-2012, 08:22 AM
I have 2 Vertex 4's. running in RAID 0. Only problem I have had is with Intel driver. I kept losing RAID. Changed to Marvel and no problems since. R/W speeds in the 900's.

WayneMiddy
19-11-2012, 08:44 AM
Question JJJJJ in Raid 0 if one ssd fails wont you lose all data? Twice the RW speed comes at twice the risk. someone might need to clarifiy.

Nick G
19-11-2012, 09:21 AM
Question JJJJJ in Raid 0 if one ssd fails wont you lose all data? Twice the RW speed comes at twice the risk. someone might need to clarifiy.
Yep, in raid 0 if one fails you lose all your data. SSDs don't fail like hard drives though, so its much safer. Don't know why you'd want to though, the speed increase would be mininal, so IMHO it'd be better to not bother with raid, and use them as two individual SSDs instead.

Cato
19-11-2012, 09:49 AM
I have 2 Vertex 4's. running in RAID 0. Only problem I have had is with Intel driver. I kept losing RAID. Changed to Marvel and no problems since. R/W speeds in the 900's.

Correct me if I am wrong but... Doesn't RAID0 render TRIM useless?
So, wouldn't it give you negative performance??

icow
19-11-2012, 11:12 AM
en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/TRIM

Intel was meant to add support for RAID 0. Not sure if they have.

JJJJJ
19-11-2012, 03:51 PM
Firstly the speed increase is not minimal. Twelve and a half percent!. And if a third SSD is included The increase will be about 25 percent. And so on depending on the number of SSD's you include. Simple maths.
Yes if you get a RAID falier you will lose everything. But if you clone your O/S and any valuables before you start there's no problem in setting it up again.
Of course if you are adding "can't Lose" material every day it would be necessary to do regular backups.

JJJJJ
19-11-2012, 03:54 PM
en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/TRIM

Intel was meant to add support for RAID 0. Not sure if they have.


They have.

learning
19-11-2012, 05:07 PM
Like someone mentioned....Samsung 830 128GB is the best.... in my opinion.
I have had it for 9 months and its rock solid

Awesome performance and fantastic reliability...If you look up its review from NewEgg, its easily the creame of the crop.
And with 840 series out now, 830s are becoming dirt cheap too

Cato
20-11-2012, 02:27 PM
I bought the Samsung 830 128G.

Very happy with everything so far.

Nick G
20-11-2012, 04:06 PM
Firstly the speed increase is not minimal. Twelve and a half percent!. And if a third SSD is included The increase will be about 25 percent. And so on depending on the number of SSD's you include. Simple maths.
Yes if you get a RAID falier you will lose everything. But if you clone your O/S and any valuables before you start there's no problem in setting it up again.
Of course if you are adding "can't Lose" material every day it would be necessary to do regular backups.
An SSD is pretty fast already. I doubt most people would notice an extra 12% speed increase.