PDA

View Full Version : Strange problem



catspyjamas
10-11-2012, 08:15 PM
Trying to solve a mystery here. For several days I haven't been able to open:

http://www.wilderssecurity.com/index.php
http://www.techsupportforum.com/
http://technet.microsoft.com/
http://www.vistax64.com/

If I type the websites in the address bar or navigate through a link or bookmark I can't connect at all, but I CAN open said sites with no problems at all if I type the websites into https://www.ixquick.com/ (a search engine) and open via the ixquick proxy (shown in link underneath each search). I thought it had to be a DNS issue since can open via ixquick proxy and I'm not having trouble browsing other websites, but when I rang the Telecom help desk they didn't think it was. I have the same problem with every browser and my AV/AS scans are all 100& clean. Having addons disabled & AV disabled has no effect either. Rebooting modem/PC didn't help either. Can't think of what else it could be other than DNS issue?

So if you are with Telecom could you please let me know if you can open them or not, because if would be useful to know if it's just me. Just a yes or no will do but any thoughts welcome. Thanks.

jebby
10-11-2012, 08:50 PM
Hi catspj, yep the 4 open here no problem on Xtra.

catspyjamas
10-11-2012, 09:04 PM
Thanks jebby. Hmm the plot thickens.... I wonder if it is my modem or my computer at fault, but seems strange that otherwise everything is working OK!!

pctek
11-11-2012, 07:20 AM
So if you are with Telecom could you please let me know if you can open them or not,
Yes.

Has your firewall blocked them perhaps?

Agent_24
11-11-2012, 05:34 PM
I had a problem like this ages ago, a full factory reset of my router solved the problem.

catspyjamas
11-11-2012, 05:53 PM
Thanks pctek & agent_24. I forgot about disabling the firewall and gave it a go but sadly this didn't help. Agent_24 - Definitely a possibility. Even though the modem NEVER loses connection and seems to perform well I'm a bit suspicious of it. I can connect to my laptop wirelessly but I discovered a couple of months ago I cannot connect to the internet with the ethernet, regardless of the modem port used. My laptop can see a LAN connection immediately I plug it in but it only ever shows a limited connection and unidentified network. I have the latest drivers for my ethernet according to diagnostic tool. Again not sure if this is a computer or modem/router problem - did some troubleshooting with xtra with that to no avail a few months ago (i.e. my LAN and modem/router settings are perfect and my line is fine so either computer or modem fault). I'm worried that if I reset the modem I won't be able to connect at all since I gather you kinda need an ethernet to set it all up. She's an old girl (D-Link DSL-G604T) so might be the beginning of the end....

linw
11-11-2012, 07:45 PM
Tell you what, ask Telecom for a free wireless modem/router. They usually oblige if you have a very old one.

Paul.Cov
11-11-2012, 08:23 PM
Site access hijacked via the Hosts file.

Given that they're security / update / help related sites, it is a hint that there's malware at work.

Agent_24
11-11-2012, 08:37 PM
Try scanning with Spybot search and destroy..

WarNox
11-11-2012, 10:36 PM
Do you have another computer you can test this with? Probably the easiest way to isolate the problem.

A bit of a long shot since most websites work but you could try running WinSockFix (http://www.softpedia.com/get/Tweak/Network-Tweak/WinSockFix.shtml).

Strange that it's happening with all browsers. Have you tried resetting IE to factory settings? Maybe test the with Firefox Portable too without importing any IE settings (http://portableapps.com/apps/internet/firefox_portable).

Paul.Cov
12-11-2012, 01:55 PM
Hmm.


Just surfing to this site has been a bit hit and miss today.
Could be there's some rot in the net.

catspyjamas
13-11-2012, 01:56 PM
Thanks for all the replies everyone. As it turns out the Telecom helpdesk chap I spoke to gave me the wrong Google DNS address - he gave me 8484 instead of 8844 for the second line. Argh. Got the correct Google numbers from another post on pressf1 and bingo all those sites load perfectly AND I can now successfully check for Windows Updates again (the other problem I've been having). So yeah I rang Telecom back to let them know I can access using Google DNS and they said they're inundated with calls re various websites not loading for some customers. There's a thread I just found about it here too: http://www.geekzone.co.nz/forums.asp?forumid=39&topicid=111673 Strangely it's different sites for different people so maybe a server(s) issue or something.

Agent_24
13-11-2012, 02:37 PM
Strange. But then I recall having issues accessing badcaps.net a while back, turned out it was a problem with DNS at Telecom's end.

For the record, I have no issues accessing any of the previously listed sites on my Telecom connection, with Telecom's DNS.

catspyjamas
13-11-2012, 03:00 PM
That's the weird thing about it. I can access all the problem sites in that geekzone thread. It seems that those having the problems accessing websites are finding it's with different sites to other people having problems too. It's definitely at Telecom's end and they acknowledged that on the phone today.

I had a similar problem a few years ago too, but that time it affected all Telecom customers and it was all the same websites. It was a DNS issue from Limelight CDN from memory, and Telecom was one of 2-3 ISPs affected.

Cato
13-11-2012, 03:32 PM
Same issue: http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?127754-Telecom-Broadband-users-help-please

Everything started working for me yesterday.

It's weird why only SOME of us on telecom have problems but not others.

catspyjamas
13-11-2012, 03:43 PM
Oh I didn't see that thread Cato! Yeah it's strange indeed. I've switched back to automatic DNS settings (instead of Google's) and I can load those 4 sites I was having trouble with today too. Not tested Windows Update again yet - will wait for it to check automatically later tonight and see what happens.