PDA

View Full Version : ThinkVantage of Death!!!



Nerdtastic
06-11-2012, 06:25 PM
I have a school issued Lenovo X201i and people, as a prank, press the blue ThinkVantage button many times and because I don't have admin, it comes up with the type in the admin password popup, damaging my laptop. Is there any way I can disable the button. I guess I could always go to the ICT guys but I am afraid they will turn me away (do they fix that kind of stuff?).

BTW: I have done I google search but nothing comes up for my laptop

Thanks,
Nerdtastic :dogeye:

b....
06-11-2012, 07:24 PM
Your school supplied the laptop so I would go to the school IT guys for help.

Agent_24
06-11-2012, 10:50 PM
Can you explain how a prompt asking for the admin account password 'damages' the laptop?

pctek
07-11-2012, 06:56 AM
Sounds like rubbish to me. Go to IT.

Nerdtastic
07-11-2012, 07:16 AM
Can you explain how a prompt asking for the admin account password 'damages' the laptop?

People press the button heaps so it lags out.

Nerdtastic
07-11-2012, 07:17 AM
Thanks everyone for the replys.
Will go to ICT today.
Thanks again!

Nerdtastic
07-11-2012, 03:54 PM
I went to ICT today and got that its not possible to disable it and when it crashes just reboot it. You would of thought that ICT would care if kids were damaging other students leased property. I know for a fact that it is possible because of a google search.

Please help me!

Jen
07-11-2012, 05:08 PM
Don't let other people use your laptop if they are messing with it - simple.

Agent_24
08-11-2012, 04:35 PM
This thing?

http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/ThinkPad_Button

Maybe you can change the function of it..

Nerdtastic
09-11-2012, 09:35 AM
This thing?

http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/ThinkPad_Button

Maybe you can change the function of it..

Thanks, it says that the registry path is:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\IBM\TPHOTKEY\8001]
"File"="C:\\PROGRA~1\\THINKV~1\\PrdCtr\\LPL1.exe"

So, to change what it opens, you just change the second line?
Can you edit the registry without admin?

Thanks everyone for your responses!

Agent_24
09-11-2012, 09:41 AM
Yes, and yes, you'd likely need administrator access so it probably wouldn't work (within Windows)

However, you might be able to get around that by editing the registry offline, or renaming that executable file offline so the thing can't find it. Renaming it may make nothing happen when the button is pressed, or you might get an error message about the file being missing, which could be just as annoying.


Probably should ask the IT guys if they can just change it or disable it for you first, though.

icow
09-11-2012, 09:44 AM
People press the button heaps so it lags out.

That's hardly damaging...