PDA

View Full Version : Mac hardware problem



Digby
28-10-2012, 07:47 AM
I am a Windows man thru and thru.

But a friend has a Macbook with a hardware problem.

Does this forum have any mac experts, or should I look for a Mac forum ?

plod
28-10-2012, 08:03 AM
I am a Windows man thru and thru.

But a friend has a Macbook with a hardware problem.

Does this forum have any mac experts, or should I look for a Mac forum ?depends what you need to know. Give us a go. There are at least 6 mac users here

nedkelly
28-10-2012, 10:22 AM
Im here too.
Unless I was part of the 6?

plod
28-10-2012, 10:26 AM
Im here too.
Unless I was part of the 6?you are indeed, think dig by has gone back to bed

icow
28-10-2012, 11:33 AM
Mac hardware is basically exactly the same as hardware you would find in any other pc. Main difference is how it interfaces with software. If it's a hardware only issue most pc users could probably have a fair guess as to whats wrong.

Digby
28-10-2012, 06:55 PM
Thanks guys, i'll post the details of the problem as soon as I can.

Digby
29-10-2012, 11:49 AM
Its a Macbook Pro

When my friend tuns it on, its does not boot up and he gets 3 beeps.
But today it booted up all Ok

Any clues on that ?

icow
29-10-2012, 12:27 PM
From memory that's a RAM issue.

Take the battery out (if you can) and there should be a small l shaped bracket that you can remove (from inside of the battery bay) and the ram should be behind that. Take 1 stick out, see if it boots. If not take the other one out and put the first one back in and so on. That's the generic Macbook RAM swap. Might be best to google or look on the apple site for specific instructions on how to swap ram for your particular model of Macbook.

tmrafi
29-10-2012, 12:36 PM
1 beep = no RAM installed
2 beeps = incompatible RAM types
3 beeps = no good banks
4 beeps = no good boot images in the boot ROM (and/or bad sys config block)
5 beeps = processor is not usable

Looks like your RAM modules are dying or not seated properly

The Error Guy
29-10-2012, 03:35 PM
At least it's not a new macbook, otherwise you'd have to replace the whole mobo (RAM is soldered on)

As per icow, remove and clean one stick at a time (if multiple units are installed) and check if problem persists and replace the faulty unit. If it's one unit, clean and reseat it properly.

If you find one is faulty, replace it.

plod
29-10-2012, 04:00 PM
At least it's not a new macbook, otherwise you'd have to replace the whole mobo (RAM is soldered on)

As per icow, remove and clean one stick at a time (if multiple units are installed) and check if problem persists and replace the faulty unit. If it's one unit, clean and reseat it properly.

If you find one is faulty, replace it.Thats only the retina macbooks. the normal ones have slots. the retina comes loaded with max ram anyway.

Agent_24
29-10-2012, 04:38 PM
the retina comes loaded with max ram anyway.

That won't help if the RAM becomes faulty though will it?

mikebartnz
29-10-2012, 10:29 PM
I am a Windows man thru and thru.

But a friend has a Macbook with a hardware problem.

Does this forum have any mac experts, or should I look for a Mac forum ?
Plonker.

Jen
29-10-2012, 10:34 PM
Plonker.Hey. What is with the attitude. If you continue making 'grumpy' posts like this you will get time out.

mikebartnz
29-10-2012, 10:40 PM
Hey. What is with the attitude. If you continue making 'grumpy' posts like this you will get time out.
You have a question you ask it and Digby has been around long enough to know.