PDA

View Full Version : Laptop Conundrum

SightedNZ
15-10-2012, 08:42 PM
Hi there,

First time poster, long time Mag reader, haha

Anyway, I'm in the market for a new laptop and would really appreciate some suggestions for machines based on my requirements;

Processor: At least a 2.6GHz i7
RAM: 16GB
HDD: Either a 512GB SSD or Dual HDD capability (for RAID 0)
Screen: 15.6" (I don't want to go any larger), 1920x1080 preferred
Style: The lighter and smaller the better
Video Performance: Geforce 640m 2GB or better

Basically, I'm an IT technician that's on the road a fair bit so I want it to be light and portable. Professional looking is also a plus (eg. an Alienware or Asus Lamborghini is out of the question).

I also want to use this laptop for study. By study I'm wanting to run Server VM's in Sun Virtualbox and GNS3 in tandem. I also want to use this machine for a bit of gaming. I'd be happy if it could run Borderlands 2 well.

Now I have found 2 options:

As you may have guessed, the first is a Macbook Pro with Retina Display. The second is Dells XPS 15 found here (http://www.dell.com/nz/p/xps-15-l521x/pd?oc=v510694nz&model_id=xps-15-l521x).

Unfortunately after some extensive research on the Dell, I discovered that it suffers from impromptu shutdowns due to overheating and has a pretty flaky wireless adapter... Which lead me back to the Mac.

I'm happy to run Apples product with bootcamp but are interested to know if anyone has any other suggestions for a laptop matching my requirements?

Other than Dell, i've checked out Lenovo, Asus, Samsung, Toshiba, Acer and HP solutions. Lenovo had one machine but it was actually more expensive than the Macbook at just over 5k.

Thanks for reading and once again, any suggestions would be much appreciated :)

johnd
15-10-2012, 09:14 PM
For something completely different how about https://zareason.co.nz/Verix-2.5.html ?

SightedNZ
16-10-2012, 11:20 AM
Hi John,