PDA

View Full Version : Which good, 'budget' laptop should I buy??

RabidGinFairy
12-09-2012, 10:03 PM
Hey all, my Dell Inspiron 1525 isn't handling the internet the way it used to. I've been really pleased with it's performance to date, I can't even remember when I bought it, and I love the look of the Inspiron and its keyboard. I read a review on here about the 17R, but this may be a little too expensive for me. I don't need a small laptop, doesnt need to be compact , lightweight etc as I only really use it at home.
I use laptop for the usual, email and surfing, watching movies, I don't play a lot of games on it but I guess that would be nice if I wanted to. Id like it to be able to handle those sites with those of ads and things popping up all over the place, as this is what seems to cause my Inspiron 1525 to overheat and shut itself down (processing power?). I have no idea what GHZ or ram etc I need, I'm not technical at all, just thought I would see if anyone here could help :) Apologies for the layman's terminology! Any advice would be awesome. Thankyou, Monique

johcar
12-09-2012, 10:12 PM
Before you spend any money, if you think that ads are causing slow-downs, install either Google Chrome or Firefox and then install AdBlock Plus (extension/add-on). Might provide a few more months worth of useful life from the Dell.

If you're dead set keen on upgrading, you should be able to pick up a nice i3-powered Toshiba for less than $700...

icow
12-09-2012, 10:14 PM
Probably worth taking a look here: http://shopap.lenovo.com/SEUILibrary/controller/e/nzweb/LenovoPortal/en_NZ/catalog.workflow:category.details?action=init&current-catalog-id=3634951826AE4D3881BFFF1AC5FCD957&current-category-id=CCAA98F81F1149E1BC701E0BB6728667

What kind of budget are you on?

mzee
12-09-2012, 11:49 PM