PDA

View Full Version : QuickTime



Nick G
18-08-2012, 09:26 PM
My dad went to uninstall quicktime. He was then going to uninstall it again. He uninstalled it using the normal windows uninstaller. It uninstalled, but not successfully. It no longer show up in revo, windows uninstaller, etc. I can't find any folders left. But, trying to install the latest version of quicktime comes up with 'quicktime can't install because there is already a version of quicktime again'.

Please advise.

icow
18-08-2012, 10:01 PM
Have you run ccleaner to check if it left any registry entries behind?

gary67
18-08-2012, 10:25 PM
Open task manager and make sure no QT tasks are still running

wainuitech
18-08-2012, 10:58 PM
Have a read of http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1925

Nick G
19-08-2012, 08:53 AM
@Icow. Already tried that, CCleaner found a heap, I removed them all, but no luck.
@Gary67. Thanks, I hadn't though of that.
@wainuitech. Already tried that, I didn't find anything, but I'll get a second pair of eyes in just in case I missed something.

Nick G
19-08-2012, 11:34 AM
Ok, I hadn't missed anything. Went through again, nothing to do with quicktime running. Quizzed my father on his usage, a system restore point was created three hours before quicktime was uninstalled. He hadn't done anything on the computer to do with work since then, so I cam rolling back his system to 3 hours before quicktime was uninstalled.

Metla
19-08-2012, 11:46 AM
Dance with the devil.

I wouldn't install shittime on any machine.

Nick G
19-08-2012, 12:02 PM
System restore worked to a point. Rolled back to when quicktime was still there. I wanted to see if it would let me uninstall then reinstall, so I uninstalled - with revo, a full 'advanced' removal. Tried to reinstall quicktime, still got that error message again. I will be rolling back again then not uninstalling quicktime, but why does it keep doing this?

Metla
19-08-2012, 12:05 PM
Poor choice of dancing partner.

Nick G
19-08-2012, 12:13 PM
Poor choice of dancing partner.
I know, not my computer though. And sadly, I have to have it with mine, as I do use iTunes for my music/apps for ipod purchases.

Metla
19-08-2012, 01:16 PM
Itunes is a great reason to use an Android based device.

gary67
19-08-2012, 01:36 PM
Itunes is a great reason to use an Android based device.

Sure is it doesn't support lossless or at least it won't sell you any

KarameaDave
19-08-2012, 02:16 PM
Quicktime alternative?
http://www.softpedia.com/get/Multimedia/Video/Video-Players/QuickTime-Alternative.shtml