PDA

View Full Version : Re Dud PC 2



Poppa John
10-08-2012, 07:42 PM
Hi all.
Same PC but different qustions, so I started another thread as the other was getting so long.

That PC is IDE. My PC is Sata. My HD is 160GB. That PC HD is 320GB.

So I want to put the 320GB HD in my computer, can I?

Te other thing I want to do is transfer all the data from the IDE 320 onto the next computer, how ould I do this?

Thanks. PJ

pctek
10-08-2012, 08:06 PM
That PC is IDE. My PC is Sata. My HD is 160GB. That PC HD is 320GB.

So I want to put the 320GB HD in my computer, can I?

Te other thing I want to do is transfer all the data from the IDE 320 onto the next computer, how ould I do this?



1)Yes, so long as it has an IDE port.
2)Connect drive, copy, paste.

Poppa John
10-08-2012, 08:32 PM
1)Yes, so long as it has an IDE port.
2)Connect drive, copy, paste.

1)...What does the IDE port look like? I assume that this is on the MB? PJ

Driftwood
10-08-2012, 08:49 PM
Like this

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/304575-31-using-hard-drive

Poppa John
10-08-2012, 09:19 PM
Like this

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/304575-31-using-hard-drive

There are wide flat grey cables(?) from the MB with plugs that look like that & the 4 pin(?) one which I take to be the power Supply.
The Sata plug is at the bottom RH corner of the MB & is red. PJ

Speedy Gonzales
10-08-2012, 09:28 PM
Thats it, and thats right the 4 pin is the molex connector / power for IDE

Poppa John
10-08-2012, 09:42 PM
Ok so I can see possibilites here. I will come back to you people when the time comes. Thankyou. PJ

Slankydudl
10-08-2012, 10:20 PM
can you not get ide to sata converters?

dugimodo
10-08-2012, 10:36 PM
can you not get ide to sata converters?

Yes but you're better off buying a cheap controller card with an IDE port or an external dock or enclosure, the converters don't have a good reputation.

coldot
10-08-2012, 10:46 PM
He doesn't need a card or converter if he's got IDE on his motherboard. Presumably he's going to keep his operating system on the SATA drive and simply have the IDE drive as a second storage drive.

Poppa John
11-08-2012, 02:00 PM
He doesn't need a card or converter if he's got IDE on his motherboard. Presumably he's going to keep his operating system on the SATA drive and simply have the IDE drive as a second storage drive.


Correct. PJ