PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible to install a PC133 SDRAM when you have PC100 SIMM?



03-11-2001, 03:17 PM
Is it possible to install 128 PC133 SDRAM, when your mother-board have a 64 PC100 SIMM inside it?

Is there any other type of ram better them PC133 or PC100. If so can you tell me how much it cost and is it good or alright?

Thanks alot

03-11-2001, 03:34 PM
You really need to read your motherboard manual, to find out what the limits are for it.

There is better ram, but its more expensive and your board probably can't take it, p133 is pretty good stuff though.

03-11-2001, 03:37 PM
You can use 133MHz ram, it will clock down to 100MHz.

If its an older computer, check it can handle 128MB sticks first.

DDR ram is much better, but you will need a board that supports it (ie. wait for your next computer).

04-11-2001, 09:37 PM
Hi bm, Go here to get a little background on RAM.
http://hwreviews.netscape.com/hardware/0-1103-8-6220389-4.html. You can see A PC100 SIMM is most probably a PC100 SDRam DIMM. This is obviously working for you and your board must support it.(Also SIMMs and DIMMs have different socket types). In most cases 133 SDRAM will work on your board but run at the lower speed when added with your 100SDRAM(ie 100Mhz). Some boards don't support higher speed RAM so its best to check your MB manual or ask if you can return purchesed RAM if it does not work with your system.