PDA

View Full Version : How to accomplish three monitors?



mOOseCaNNoN
02-08-2012, 02:33 PM
Hi Guys,

I'm running a windows 7 ultimate x64 system with a GTX 260OC PCIE graphics card which I'm currently running two screens from.

I'm wanting to add a third screen, just for desktop stuff, not gaming. If I purchase a standard PCI graphics card and plug it in, will windows 7 recognise it and be able to use it as a third display?

Thanks.

SolMiester
02-08-2012, 02:35 PM
I have 4 monitors, the 1st and 4th are driven by USB to VGA adapter....
Cost varies however about $95, VGA > 12x10, DVI > 19x10...but if you want a proper card, then yes, W7 can run 2 GPUs and different drivers...

mOOseCaNNoN
02-08-2012, 03:03 PM
Awesome thanks Sol. I didn't know about USB to VGA adapters, I'll have a hunt around and see what works out to be cheaper

Renmoo
04-08-2012, 10:45 AM
USB to VGA adaptors - just keep an eye on the resolution supported when you are hunting for one.

I was in your position when I was thinking of how to add a third screen to my system. In the end, I decided to get a netbook, connect it to my main laptop (which is powering an external screen in addition to its own screen) via a crossover cable, then connect a screen to the netbook. I control the netbook via a desktop remote software.

8ftmetalhaed
04-08-2012, 11:17 AM
they also do usb to DVI, though I haven't seen USB to HDMI as of yet.
If you wanted a 3rd gaming screen you'd need a second graphics card I believe, or an AMD one.

mOOseCaNNoN
04-08-2012, 12:00 PM
sweet. The screen I have is only a 15" 1024x768 native res. but might upgrade in future so will watch the res on those USB to VGA's. don't need it for gaming :)

Cheers