PDA

View Full Version : word form



NZHawk
01-08-2012, 02:44 PM
I receive a Microsoft Word form from an organization.
When I go to print - it prints the associated fields from the organization
and not the data that was entered in the fields
ie: <%=purchaseOrder.getVendorName(page Context)%>

I have:
- saved the document to the desktop: same problem
- copied to another computer: prints normal
- installed & opened & print with Open Office: print normal
- uninstalled & re-installed Microsoft Office: no change , still prints the fields

any suggestions of how to correct this?

Thank you

wainuitech
01-08-2012, 03:25 PM
What version of Word are you using ?

Have you tried saving as PDF - does it save the entered text ?

NZHawk
01-08-2012, 03:27 PM
Word 2007
Saving as pdf does same thing: <%=purchaseOrder.getVendorName(page Context)%>

NZHawk
02-08-2012, 03:24 PM
anyone have any further thoughts on this?

zqwerty
02-08-2012, 04:38 PM
Find and rename Normal.dot to Normal.old and try again see if that changes anything.

Save the old Normal.dot this way so you can change back if necessary because you have special setups etc.

wainuitech
02-08-2012, 04:39 PM
Been thinking about it :)

Have a read / Fiddle with the following instructions https://askdrexel.drexel.edu/app/answers/detail/a_id/2308/~/how-to%3A-print-field-code-values-instead-of-code-in-word-2007-document.


Just looked at mine Word 2010- check to see what options you have.

4051

May or may not be of any help.

NZHawk
02-08-2012, 04:42 PM
Excellent suggestions: will implement & report back
Thank you!

NZHawk
02-08-2012, 05:10 PM
Print field codes instead of their values was not selected

wainuitech
02-08-2012, 08:37 PM
Assume that means its working as it should now ?

If so, amazing what trouble a single tick can do :)

NZHawk
02-08-2012, 09:03 PM
no sorry didn't explain clearly,
when I check the setting it was already cleared.
so problem still exists.

we need to ponder a little more.

zqwerty
02-08-2012, 11:52 PM
Have you tried the Normal.dot solution?

NZHawk
03-08-2012, 10:51 AM
Have you tried the Normal.dot solution?

Sorry, not quite yet - will do next & report back - thank you

NZHawk
08-08-2012, 09:35 AM
I tried deleting the Normal.dot template - but alas no change - word is still printing the field link.

stratex5
08-08-2012, 09:37 AM
Try coping and pasting the doc into new doc.

NZHawk
08-08-2012, 09:41 AM
Hmmm - brilliant
will do
although - if this works, what will that prove?
as I get these attachments quite frequently - I won't want to have to copy & paste each time.

stratex5
08-08-2012, 03:50 PM
Well, you could always hire someone to do it:p

NZHawk
08-08-2012, 03:53 PM
another brilliant Idea !!