PDA

View Full Version : "Aw, Snap!" message in Chrome occurring frequently



caffy
19-07-2012, 03:38 PM
Hey guys,

Am on Mac OS X 10.7.4, and using Chrome version 20.0.1132.57.

Ever since getting this laptop (Macbook Pro) for work, I have noticed I frequently get the Aw, Snap! message when viewing pages that have video content, for example YouTube videos, either embedded on a website or on YouTube's webiste.

I've looked at the steps that Chrome suggested (https://support.google.com/chrome/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=95669&p=e_awsnap):
Firewall/Anti-virus - don't have this on this laptop. (Should I?)
Check your extensions - Done
Malware - as said before i don't have anti-virus, so should I install one to check this?
Create a new user profile - done. Still occurs.

Interesting thing is I note this only happens in Chrome; I have tested the exact same websites/videos using Firefox with no problems so I am certain it is something to do with Chrome.

What suggestions do you have to eliminate this problem?

gary67
19-07-2012, 03:42 PM
Are they flash videos? As macs don't allow it remember and YES you should have an AV even on a MAC they do get infected

caffy
19-07-2012, 03:57 PM
Are YouTube videos run on Flash? (If so, how does YouTube work on iPads?)

Chilling_Silence
19-07-2012, 04:02 PM
I would fully remove Chrome, clear any leftover profiles and things (Use one of those funny Mac cleaner apps too) and then reinstall. That fixed it for me last time that happened (On Windows), it was due to corrupt files...

wainuitech
19-07-2012, 04:17 PM
Jumping the gun a bit, and off topic, but if it were Chrome on windows 8 thats easy to fix, as I had the same problems with That combo and flash or videos :D The fix wont work for MAC's, as its a command line that MAC's dont have.

Just use Firefox since you mentioned it works OK.

icow
19-07-2012, 04:22 PM
What's the fix with command line? There's a chance that it could be done with terminal on mac.

Nick G
19-07-2012, 05:22 PM
Well, I don't know how to fix it, but...
you should definitely have anti virus and anti malware on it. MACS can get infected, just click on an add that says 'you are the 1,000,000 visitor to this site. Click here to win an iPad' and see for yourself :p

mikebartnz
19-07-2012, 05:43 PM
just click on an add that says 'you are the 1,000,000 visitor to this site. Click here to win an iPad' and see for yourself :p
You really do talk crap at times. How is anti-virus going to stop you from giving those sites your cell phone number.

mikebartnz
19-07-2012, 05:45 PM
Jumping the gun a bit, and off topic, but if it were Chrome on windows 8 thats easy to fix, as I had the same problems with That combo and flash or videos :D The fix wont work for MAC's, as its a command line that MAC's dont have.

Just use Firefox since you mentioned it works OK.
It may not have a command line like you know it but it does have a terminal which is basically the same.

Nick G
19-07-2012, 06:48 PM
You really do talk crap at times. How is anti-virus going to stop you from giving those sites your cell phone number.
Well, I think you'll find that you're the one talking crap. It is usually a driveby download, not a questionnaire.

icow
19-07-2012, 07:00 PM
Someone who doesnt own a mac talking about how they can get viruses. *facepalm*

Agent_24
19-07-2012, 07:04 PM
Well, I think you'll find that you're the one talking crap. It is usually a driveby download, not a questionnaire.

And you know because you clicked on one, didn't you?

Nick G
19-07-2012, 07:25 PM
And you know because you clicked on one, didn't you?
Nope, my brother did once by accident :D

mikebartnz
19-07-2012, 08:09 PM
Nope, my brother did once by accident :D
So you havenīt clicked on one but you brother did once. You really are full of crap. It so happens that I have clicked on several and they all wanted my cell phone number which they obviously werenīt going to get. It is how they were going to make their money.

icow
19-07-2012, 08:11 PM
+1

Agent_24
19-07-2012, 08:33 PM
I'm pretty sure it depends on what site you're on, who made the ad and also what year it is.

Nick G
19-07-2012, 09:07 PM
I'm pretty sure it depends on what site you're on, who made the ad and also what year it is.
Probably :D
Anyway, back to my original point, Caffy, you should get an antivirus and antimalware program. Never having owned a MAC, I don't know how easy it is to get a virus on them, but it will be possible.

wainuitech
19-07-2012, 10:06 PM
What's the fix with command line? There's a chance that it could be done with terminal on mac. As I said its off topic, but the cause is windows 8 and chrome under certain conditions if using flash games or video, it can cause windows 8 to totally freeze, or crash the flash. MS know about it, and the fix will be in the RTM. Its got to do with Intel CPU's & Chipsets and how W8 handles certain tasks when using chrome.

Worked for me on W8 & Chrome, IE worked perfectly before hand and after as well.

The command is:

bcdedit /set disabledynamictick yes

plod
19-07-2012, 10:19 PM
Are they flash videos? As macs don't allow it remember and YES you should have an AV even on a MAC they do get infectedYes apple allow flash in OSX, it no longer comes preinstalled to my knowledge, but easily own loaded from adobe.

plod
19-07-2012, 10:21 PM
Probably :D
Anyway, back to my original point, Caffy, you should get an antivirus and antimalware program. Never having owned a MAC, I don't know how easy it is to get a virus on them, but it will be possible.I have visited every porn site on the Internet trying to get a virus on my mac, still zilch.

wainuitech
19-07-2012, 10:22 PM
Something to try, I know this works often in Windows, so it may or may not on a MAC. Disable hardware acceleration.

1. Open a youtube video
2. Right click
3. Go to settings
4. Choose the first tab
5. Disable hardware acceleration (untick the box)

gary67
20-07-2012, 08:00 AM
Yes apple allow flash in OSX, it no longer comes preinstalled to my knowledge, but easily own loaded from adobe.

I wasn't aware of that, but it was the first thing that came to mind

pctek
20-07-2012, 08:49 AM
Chrome suggested
Firewall/Anti-virus - don't have this on this laptop. (Should I?)

Malware - as said before i don't have anti-virus, so should I install one to check this?


Are they crazy? Hell yes have an AV.

Also malware - you should have antispyware in addition to the antivirus.

caffy
20-07-2012, 11:07 AM
Are they crazy? Hell yes have an AV.

Also malware - you should have antispyware in addition to the antivirus.

Lol, OK will talk to the bosses about getting that installed :) They reckoned didn't need it coz their Apple's have never been infected (or so they say)

RE suggestions, thanks. I will try some of them on Monday when I'm back in the office.

Agent_24
20-07-2012, 11:31 AM
Macs can get infected (as can just about anything) but there are nowhere near as many viruses as for Windows, though some do exist.

Flashback is a recent one that's pretty bad.

Nick G
20-07-2012, 12:18 PM
Lol, OK will talk to the bosses about getting that installed :) They reckoned didn't need it coz their Apple's have never been infected (or so they say)

RE suggestions, thanks. I will try some of them on Monday when I'm back in the office.
Apples never been infected? Where have they been hiding for the last 5 years? ;)

caffy
23-07-2012, 03:41 PM
I would fully remove Chrome, clear any leftover profiles and things (Use one of those funny Mac cleaner apps too) and then reinstall. That fixed it for me last time that happened (On Windows), it was due to corrupt files...

I looked on Google's forum how to do that, interesting thing is, it suggests to remove the Chrome folder from user>library>application support>google>chrome but there is no Chrome folder in there!

caffy
23-07-2012, 03:46 PM
Something to try, I know this works often in Windows, so it may or may not on a MAC. Disable hardware acceleration.

1. Open a youtube video
2. Right click
3. Go to settings
4. Choose the first tab
5. Disable hardware acceleration (untick the box)

Thanks, did that and so far there's no error message. I will keep an eye on it for the rest of today.

Agent_24
23-07-2012, 03:53 PM
I looked on Google's forum how to do that, interesting thing is, it suggests to remove the Chrome folder from user>library>application support>google>chrome but there is no Chrome folder in there!

It would probably be a hidden folder?

caffy
23-07-2012, 06:21 PM
It would probably be a hidden folder?

How does one enable viewing of hidden folders/files in Mac OS X?

icow
23-07-2012, 06:28 PM
http://www.mactricksandtips.com/2008/04/show-hidden-files.html

I don't think the folder you are trying to view is hidden. Have you tried: Macintosh HD > Library > Application Support >Google

Safari
23-07-2012, 06:56 PM
user>library>application support>google>chrome is the correct path for the chrome folder
The file is not hidden but the Library is not usually showing by default

With finder open and User selected (home icon) select Go from the top of the screen and Go to folder
Type in Library and it will now show and you can follow the path to the chrome folder

caffy
24-07-2012, 01:39 PM
http://www.mactricksandtips.com/2008/04/show-hidden-files.html

I don't think the folder you are trying to view is hidden. Have you tried: Macintosh HD > Library > Application Support >Google

Yep tried that, no Chrome folder in there.

caffy
24-07-2012, 01:41 PM
user>library>application support>google>chrome is the correct path for the chrome folder
The file is not hidden but the Library is not usually showing by default

With finder open and User selected (home icon) select Go from the top of the screen and Go to folder
Type in Library and it will now show and you can follow the path to the chrome folder

No Chrome folder in the Google folder if I go that way (from Library and not through Application Support). The only thing relating to Chrome is a file "Google Chrome Brand.plist"

caffy
24-07-2012, 01:47 PM
Have downloaded App Cleaner and going to delete Chrome this way, and then reinstall it. Will let you know how it gets on.

Also, bosses will look into getting AV installed yay.

caffy
24-07-2012, 03:32 PM
Have been running several youTube videos for the past 15 minutes with no crashing....so hopefully that's fixed the problem! Thanks for your advice guys.

caffy
24-07-2012, 05:12 PM
Damn, seems I spoke too soon (or have a new issue?)!

Just now I was trying to load: http://www.flysaa.com/nz/en/home!loadHome.action?request_locale=en_NZ&splashLocale=EN&splashCntry=NZ&isCookieEnabled=false when I got the aw, snap! message again. To try and narrow down possible causes, what does that page and YouTube videos have in common? Or am I looking at a new issue here?