PDA

View Full Version : Overview of my Custom PC?

CurriedChicken
14-07-2012, 03:58 PM
Hello,

I am new to all of this "Custom Building" stuff with computers. After a few weeks of research I have discovered what I need and want from online discussions and reviews.

Here are my questions:
- Is the case compatible with everything? (Enough USB Ports, enough room etc.)
- Do these parts work well with each other?
- Is there anything I can change?
- I am planing to over-clock, so would the Cosair H80 Liquid Cooler be enough to handle the heat? (Or a H100 is necessary? Or another brand??)
- How much Watts do I need? 750?
- Am I missing any essential parts? (EXCLUDING PSU, MONITOR, MOUSE, KEYBOARD, SPEAKERS)

I'm buying all of the parts from overseas (http://www.newegg.com/), EXCEPT a PSU, because obviously due to voltage, it wouldn't work in New Zealand, then I'm using a parcel forwarding service (comGateway). Will I be able to order parts from USA then use a New Zealand PSU? I've heard that is possible.

Here is my build: (All from NewEgg.com)

- Intel Core i7-3930K Sandy Bridge-E 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 2011 130W Six-Core Desktop Processor BX80619i73930K

- MSI X79A-GD65 (8D) LGA 2011 Intel X79 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

- CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9B

- ASUS DVD Burner Black SATA Model DRW-24B3ST/BLK/G/AS

- Seagate Barracuda ST2000DM001 2TB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

- SanDisk Extreme SDSSDX-120G-G25 2.5" 120GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

- MSI R7970 Lightning Radeon HD 7970 3GB 384-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

- CORSAIR H80 (CWCH80) High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler

- Corsair Carbide Series 500R White Steel structure with molded ABS plastic accent pieces ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Thanks,

dugimodo
14-07-2012, 05:17 PM