PDA

View Full Version : Changing from Vodafone to 2 Degrees



lakewoodlady
12-07-2012, 02:35 PM
I'm thinking of changing from Vodafone to 2 Degrees for my mobile phone , which is a Vodafone 858 Huawei. So, I called 2 Degrees and the girl said it is just a matter of changing over the sim card and then following the instructions. I am not totally convinced on this, as previously I talked to Slingshot and they asked me to check some numbers on my phone and said it was not compatible with their network.
Is anyone able to clarify that for me please?

LL

Zara Baxter
12-07-2012, 02:42 PM
Given that 2Degrees roams on Vodafone's network outside of metro areas, you'd imagine that there would be no network incompatibility. If 2degrees says it can do it, your only other check would be asking Voda -- they might offer you a better deal to stay.

Slingshot uses the Telecom XT network, which is why it wouldn't be compatible.

bk T
12-07-2012, 02:44 PM
Why not just walk in to a 2Degree outlet and clarify with them? If they think its OK, get the sim card, slot it in to confirm. Simple as that. What have you got to lose?

Chilling_Silence
12-07-2012, 02:49 PM
Unfortunately half the time in my experience the monkeys in-store don't even know.

Zara's right though, bang on the money, it *will* work just fine! :)

lakewoodlady
12-07-2012, 02:51 PM
Thanks for the replies guys. I remember now why it wasn't going to work on Slingshot with the XT network.

Cheers, LL

gary67
12-07-2012, 03:20 PM
And if you want to keep the number you just change it on 2D website real easy to do

Nick G
12-07-2012, 04:43 PM
It'll work fine, as said. I have a 858 working on 2 degrees, all fine, no incompatibility.

Nomad
12-07-2012, 06:20 PM
You are in Taupo right, if you use data, does 2D have towers in Taupo? If not, you might not get access to their BB packages.

You just pick up a simcard $5 is it ... and I think call the no. and it tells you what to do if you wanna port the no. that is if you wanna keep your 021 no. with 2D.

2 pple in my household have ported their 021 numbers. You could also, keep the 022 number and choose your no. actually than use the one given to you. Also finish off your 021 balance first. It won't be carried over.

Nomad
12-07-2012, 06:22 PM
When I was in Turangi I had an issue of no network but the next time I was there that was remedied.
But yep at the time 2D says no network, my Voda simcard worked fine with 4 or 5 bars. You do know that Voda also has a 49c per min calling right on prepay? It is their Prepay value deals, which you pay $5 to swap over from Supa Prepay.

lakewoodlady
13-07-2012, 11:03 AM
I will check out the coverage in this area before changing. I can keep my number they told me. Sure, I will use my Voda balance up first so that is not a problem. Currently am with the $25 per month "Prepay Smart". I never use 2500 txts or make many calls but do use a bit of the data. So, The 2 Degrees plan will be the Combo Data pack for $19 per month. 300 MB data, 30 minutes calling anywhere and 300 txts.

LL

Chilling_Silence
13-07-2012, 12:00 PM
Nice, that's not bad value for money.

Keep in mind where 2degrees doesn't have coverage you can fall back and do "national roaming" to the Vodafone network, so if you have coverage now it won't get any worse.

gary67
13-07-2012, 12:32 PM
Where Wife works at the head of the Brook valley in Nelson 2D is the Only network with cell coverage

1101
13-07-2012, 01:35 PM
Would a Vodaphone Brand Cellphone be 'locked' to only work on their network ??

Nick G
13-07-2012, 01:43 PM
Would a Vodaphone Brand Cellphone be 'locked' to only work on their network ??
Nope

lakewoodlady
13-07-2012, 01:57 PM
1101, Read post #2

LL

Nomad
13-07-2012, 02:02 PM
Bro has a 2G Vodafone branded Huawei (sp?) it works on a 2D sim before he bought his HTC.

sahilcc7
13-07-2012, 02:41 PM
I switched from Vodafone to 2degrees a few years ago. Process is very simple. Buy a sim, then go onto 2degrees' site, and follow a few instructions. You just take a few details off your voda sim and put them on the website. I think it takes about 24hours for everything to process so you can use your vodafone number with a 2degrees sim.

I have a Vodafone number with a 2Degrees sim atm.

Nick G
13-07-2012, 02:48 PM
I switched from Vodafone to 2degrees a few years ago. Process is very simple. Buy a sim, then go onto 2degrees' site, and follow a few instructions. You just take a few details off your voda sim and put them on the website. I think it takes about 24hours for everything to process so you can use your vodafone number with a 2degrees sim.

I have a Vodafone number with a 2Degrees sim atm.
Only took me half an hour. I moved my number and everything. I was on telecom though, not sure if the switch is longer if you're on vodafone.

Marnie
13-07-2012, 02:53 PM
I changed from Vodaphone to 2degrees fairly recently, keeping my old phone number. They even transferred my contacts across for me. I am not on any specific plan, I just pay as I need a top-up.

pctek
13-07-2012, 03:29 PM
I'm thinking of changing from Vodafone to 2 Degrees for my mobile phone
I talked to Slingshot and they said it was not compatible with their network.

2 Degrees uses Vodafones network.

What does Slingshit have to do with it?

Chilling_Silence
13-07-2012, 03:55 PM
Slingshot are XT "resellers"

sahilcc7
13-07-2012, 04:17 PM
Only took me half an hour. I moved my number and everything. I was on telecom though, not sure if the switch is longer if you're on vodafone.

Maybe I should state it can take up to 24hours. Mine took about 15mins.

lakewoodlady
14-07-2012, 04:31 PM
2 Degrees uses Vodafones network.

What does Slingshit have to do with it?

Because I thought I'd try out Slingshot first, and was told my phone would not work on their mobile network.

LL