PDA

View Full Version : Bad CPU



Tplw9
10-07-2012, 02:40 PM
My computer fails whenever the CPU temp gets up to 22 degrees c. Then the motherboard does infinite long beeps. Mobo: Gigabyte GA A55M DS2
CPU: AMD A4-3400
PSU: 350w
Please Help

icow
10-07-2012, 03:00 PM
I'm going to say its a motherboard issue. Why? Your CPU is probably near 22 degrees when the computer is off/just turned on. This makes me think there is a problem somewhere between the temp sensors in the cpu and were ever temp measuring programs read the senors from is not working right. Do you have another motherboard or cpu to test with? I'd RMA both the cpu and motherboard if you dont know which is broken. Both are likely unfix able (cpu definitely). Has thermal paste been applied to the cpu correctly?

Tplw9
10-07-2012, 03:03 PM
No I don't have another motherboard or CPU to Ted with but I'm going to clean the thermal paste off the CPU with alcohol and reapply.

Agent_24
10-07-2012, 03:10 PM
Is the heatsink correctly attached and making good contact?

Tplw9
10-07-2012, 03:11 PM
Yes

Agent_24
10-07-2012, 03:22 PM
Do you have BIOS version F2 or later? (it's needed to support the CPU you have)

You might also want to check if your clock speed, FSB, voltage etc is correct.

Tplw9
10-07-2012, 03:25 PM
Yes I have the 2.4 version and all CPU settings are at default also the computer worked fine until I went away for a week also the computer is only 3 weeks old.

Agent_24
10-07-2012, 03:31 PM
They might be at default but are they correct? - it's possible the BIOS is choosing the wrong setting for your CPU due to being written incorrectly.

350 watt PSU sounds a bit low for a recent system, what brand\model is it? How old is it?

How much RAM do you have? How many sticks? What video card (if any?)

Heck, list everything you have in detail please.

Tplw9
10-07-2012, 03:38 PM
PSU:Cooler Master 350w (Came with my case: Cooler Master Elite 350) Product No. TM-350-PMSR
CPU:AMD A4-3400 (Built in Radeon HD 3410d)
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-A55M DS2
Ram: G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4gb DDR3-1600 (one stick)
Extra info: Stock Heatsink and fan, Seagate Barracuda 500gb, Windows 7 Ultamate 32 bit

Tplw9
10-07-2012, 03:39 PM
And no system Fan.

Agent_24
10-07-2012, 03:48 PM
Guess you can't swap RAM around with only one stick, but you could try it in another slot.

Also, again, look up your CPU and RAM specifications in terms of timing, speed, voltage etc and manually set this all correctly in BIOS, just in case the BIOS is autodetecting it wrong. You can get big issues if these are incorrect.

However, I would suggest you also try\borrow a different PSU as that TM-350-PMSR looks pretty weak with a single 12v rail of only 10A.

Tplw9
10-07-2012, 03:54 PM
All the specs have been set to there proper values.

Agent_24
10-07-2012, 03:58 PM
Well then if that doesn't help I would swap out the PSU for a better one, I reckon it's underpowered.

Tplw9
10-07-2012, 03:59 PM
Good Replacement?

8ftmetalhaed
10-07-2012, 04:06 PM
I would say corsair or a decent thermaltake or something.
http://pbtech.co.nz/index.php?z=p&p=PSUCOR2650&name=CORSAIR-650W-AX-650-ATX12V-v2.31-EPS2.92-PSU-100%-

The included coolermaster ones aren't fantastic. Mine does alright but I made sure it was more than what I required (my setup requires minimum 400-450 watts I believe, and I don't push it too hard. I wouldn't upgrade the card without upping the PSU first at this point)

PSU's can be pricey but get a decent one and you should be set for a fair while.

icow
10-07-2012, 04:34 PM
tad overkill for a a4 system? IMO http://www.playtech.co.nz/afawcs0139234/CATID=534/page=1/antec_psu.html or this http://www.playtech.co.nz/afawcs0139235/CATID=274/ID=16082/SID=62073172/productdetails.html once they get back in stock.

Iantech
10-07-2012, 04:36 PM
Check in the BIOS.
1. System voltages
2. CPU/System fan speeds
3. CPU overheating warning
4. CPU/System fan fail warnings

Disable what does not apply, ie: sometimes the system will alert you to a failed system fan when turned on even though no fan exists.
Manually check your CPU fan is going around (sometimes a system doesnt kick in the fan as it should do when set on auto (smart) settings.)
Check and make sure your voltages are within their limits.

Paul.Cov
10-07-2012, 06:26 PM
I'm guessing the CPU is running way hotter than reported, or as earlier suggested, that the alert level is absurdly low.

Fans with dodgy bearings often run worse in cold weather (ie startup in winter). I've had one that would turn no faster than I could have spun it with a finger.
Also had instance where a fan was slow to start spinning, and the BIOS would interpret it as zero fan speed at power-on.

Also, if you have fans configured for silent or power saving modes, reset them to max speed until this gets properly resolved. This could be set in software or in BIOS, or both.

You haven't mentioned any GPU. They can be a major power drain. If you have one, and can remove it and substitute an onboard graphics port, then try that as well and see if you have any better luck.

Agent_24
10-07-2012, 06:27 PM
He's using the IGP in his CPU.

Slankydudl
10-07-2012, 08:27 PM
I know i used to get a warning message when i booted due to using a non stock coller whose fan ran at a much lower rpm.

PPp
11-07-2012, 08:22 PM
http://www.gigabyte.us/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3998#memory%20support%20list is a link to the memory your computer is specified to use. Gigabyte can be very fussy with the memory its boards will work with. When building my present Gigabyte based computer I specified the brand of RAM I wanted from my supplier, which was'nt available. he assured me a substitute with the same specs would work, and in fact was a better brand. No such luck. Might pay to check you Ram on the list.