PDA

View Full Version : Avira - anti virus - they are now spamming me two or three times a day.

Digby
02-07-2012, 04:22 PM
I have been using Avira anti virus for the last 2 years
I have had no problems with it and seem to have picked up no viruses in that time.

I recently upgraded to their 2012 version and now I am being spammed 2 or 3 times a day to buy their product.

While I understand that it what they want to do, asking me two or three times a day is a bit over the top.

I am going to email them to tell them that.

What do you think ?

I think I may turn the updates off, and just get them once a month.

Please don't suggest other products as I have tried many and want to stick with avira.

SP8's
02-07-2012, 04:28 PM
I seem to recall I had a computer with Avira AV on once ... If I was you, I'd use Revo uninstaller to get rid of it and put MSSE on ...

:2cents:

More trouble than what it it was worth ... and I think it was free ... :lol:

$h!t ... didn't read the last line of your post .... sorry .... but still think MSSE is better software.

Nick G
02-07-2012, 05:29 PM
Yup, the desktop I used to use had Avira on it. It did the same, which was part of the reason I ditched Avira when I bought my laptop.

Digby
02-07-2012, 06:49 PM
I can get rid of it If I want to
My point is that I like it

I just don't want them spamming me to buy their paid version 3 times a day!

mzee
02-07-2012, 07:07 PM
You have dug a hole for yourself and seem to enjoy being stuck in it! If you are running Windows use Microsoft Security which made for it and free. I get pissed off with people who ask for advice then don't listen. Carry on with Avira, but don't waste our time.

kahawai chaser
02-07-2012, 07:24 PM