PDA

View Full Version : PSU voltage



Nick G
23-06-2012, 04:32 PM
I have a psu which I want to try on a desktop computer. I don't know how to read the voltage switch though. I need 230 volts. If I flick the switch one way, I can see 230, if I flick it th other, I can see 115. If I can see 230 does it mean it will be set t0230,or will it be set to 115.

Thanks/

bk T
23-06-2012, 04:44 PM
If you can see 230V, it's 230V. You have to set it to 230V if you are in NZ.

Nick G
23-06-2012, 04:52 PM
Thanks. I thought so but didn't want to take the risk of plugging it in at the wrong voltage.

ChazTheGeek
23-06-2012, 08:53 PM
You gotta be really carefull. I have a friend who switched the voltage switch on a school computer's PC (old pentium 4 compaqs) and the machine just blew. Smoke just poured out.
What I can't beleive is the teacher didn't notice till the next day or two.....and the class smelt of smoke.
So it pays to be quite carefull.

Nick G
24-06-2012, 10:34 AM
I know that, but our psu is dead anyway. Was having a look to make sure nobody had adjusted the voltage,but it was still set correctly. So, a dead psu but not due to a voltage change. Its not cennected to any surge protector so I'm thinking that might have been it.

westom
25-06-2012, 04:12 AM
Its not cennected to any surge protector so I'm thinking that might have been it.
Most supply failures are due to manufacturing defects. Best surge protection is routinely found in power supplies. A power strip protector may have simply bypassed superior protection inside the supply.

Many want to blame something according to what advertising says. In reality, most supply failures are manufacturing defects. Failures that typically are not identified by observation or smell.

pctek
25-06-2012, 08:41 AM
I know that, but our psu is dead anyway. So, a dead psu but not due to a voltage change. Its not cennected to any surge protector so I'm thinking that might have been it.

Cheap nasty PSUs die frequently.
Power fluctuations can kill them, cheap components can kill them. Surge protectors shouldn't be needed and probably had nothing to do with it.

If you're really curious open the PSU up, you may or may not see the cause.

Nick G
25-06-2012, 10:19 AM
Cheap nasty PSUs die frequently.
Power fluctuations can kill them, cheap components can kill them. Surge protectors shouldn't be needed and probably had nothing to do with it.

If you're really curious open the PSU up, you may or may not see the cause.
Might do that. Its my father's pc and he's not really keen on someone other than a 'specialist' having a look, just because he has no clue what to do in there. But still, will try.

And yep, its a cheap nasty psu that came with the pc when first bought. Once again, my father's not to keen on upgrading. If he allowed it I'd have doubled the ram a long time ago. Will try again though.

Nick G
25-06-2012, 11:54 AM
Can someone put me on to a place where I can buy disk enclosures?

Billy T
25-06-2012, 01:32 PM
A power strip protector may have simply bypassed superior protection inside the supply.

No, that would be very unlikely indeed, the power strip would only have a spike protector and maybe an overload cutout. That unit stands alone so cannot bypass any protection the computer power supply may have. The worst that could happen might be the strip protector literally self destructing, in which case major supply disturbances could possibly disrupt the drive waveforms to the switching device that generates the supply outputs, and that could cause that component to fail. It probably just died a natural death.

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

Nick G
25-06-2012, 02:36 PM
Its about 8 years old and packing a pentium4, so natural death is probably likely if a surge has been ruled out. Might be able to convince him to buy a new one :p

ChazTheGeek
25-06-2012, 05:40 PM
Ohh, well that PSU is getting rather ancient. Just when mention Pentium 4 it makes it sound old. Hope you can convince your dad.
I upgraded my dad's Core 2 Duo system with a faster CPU (E8500), a new GPU (GT 520) and a PSU. I couldn't upgrade the RAM any further though.

Nick G
25-06-2012, 06:21 PM
Well, we've only got 1gb or ram as well, and the rest of the family say that it runs slowly. I wonder why :p

ChazTheGeek
25-06-2012, 06:38 PM
Oh...um...oh dear. :horrified:horrified:D

Dads PC has 4 GB RAM.;)

Nick G
25-06-2012, 07:44 PM
I know I know, but I haven't managed to convince him that there will be a large preformance boost.

Nick G
08-07-2012, 04:33 PM
Well, got into the pc and took the old psu out. Was looking at replacing it with this (http://pricespy.co.nz/product.php?p=545235) model. Is silverstone a reliable brand? I don't know much about psu brands other than hyena=bad :D

:thanks:

mikebartnz
08-07-2012, 05:14 PM
No, that would be very unlikely indeed, the power strip would only have a spike protector and maybe an overload cutout. That unit stands alone so cannot bypass any protection the computer power supply may have. The worst that could happen might be the strip protector literally self destructing, in which case major supply disturbances could possibly disrupt the drive waveforms to the switching device that generates the supply outputs, and that could cause that component to fail. It probably just died a natural death.

Cheers

Billy 8-{)
Please don't stir him up again Billy.:horrified

icow
08-07-2012, 07:04 PM
Reliable brands? Corsair, Antec and Enermax. SeaSonic may also be an option but I personally haven't used that brand.

ChazTheGeek
08-07-2012, 07:17 PM
As long as it works. Good to hear that you are finally doing something about the PSU.

icow
08-07-2012, 07:37 PM
Cheap psu's work... For a few seconds. I wouldn't recommend them.

linw
08-07-2012, 10:37 PM
A P4 system doesn't have to have an everlasting PSU, though!! An expensive PSU would be more than the whole thing is worth.

If it runs slow it is FAR more likely that it is running heaps of startups than that it is short of RAM.

mikebartnz
08-07-2012, 10:55 PM
A P4 system doesn't have to have an everlasting PSU, though!! An expensive PSU would be more than the whole thing is worth.

If it runs slow it is FAR more likely that it is running heaps of startups and has had many Windows updates than that it is short of RAM.
Fixed that for you.

Agent_24
08-07-2012, 11:09 PM
A P4 system doesn't have to have an everlasting PSU, though!! An expensive PSU would be more than the whole thing is worth.

If it runs slow it is FAR more likely that it is running heaps of startups than that it is short of RAM.

Funny you mention P4s... A friend of mine had one years ago with a Hyena PSU, it got slower and slower and eventually didn't even POST.

Turned out the capacitors in the PSU had turned to crap, a new one fixed all the problems.

pctek
09-07-2012, 07:56 AM
A P4 system doesn't have to have an everlasting PSU, though!! An expensive PSU would be more than the whole thing is worth.


It doesn't? I would have thought, that regardless of the age of the other components, keeping them working is the idea, not have your smoke leak out and everything coming to a grnding halt.

And also, when it does come time to upgrade, a decent PSU can be re-used.
Cheap **** on the other hand will usually cause a need to be upgrading everything, suddenly.

Nick G
09-07-2012, 09:49 AM
It doesn't? I would have thought, that regardless of the age of the other components, keeping them working is the idea, not have your smoke leak out and everything coming to a grnding halt.

And also, when it does come time to upgrade, a decent PSU can be re-used.
Cheap **** on the other hand will usually cause a need to be upgrading everything, suddenly.
+1, particularly saying that we wouldn't be able to really afford an upgrade. So, I've had a better look, decided to go with a 400 watt one by silverstone that I can pick up in store. I've looked at reviews of silverstone and it appears to be okay, and by buying instore it will be easier in case the psu craps out :D

Agent_24
09-07-2012, 12:33 PM
by buying instore it will be easier in case the psu craps out :D

That doesn't mean anything. If the store is crap they will still try to scam you out of your warranty regardless of how you purchased it off them.

Nick G
09-07-2012, 12:46 PM
That doesn't mean anything. If the store is crap they will still try to scam you out of your warranty regardless of how you purchased it off them.
No, I don't think its crap. I've bought from them before, and I've foung them to honor their warranty. Anyway, bought the PSU, plugged it in, and the pc now works fine.

Agent_24
09-07-2012, 01:43 PM
No, I don't think its crap. I've bought from them before, and I've foung them to honor their warranty. Anyway, bought the PSU, plugged it in, and the pc now works fine.

The place you purchased from may indeed be reputable.

But buying in person does not increase your chances of a successful warranty return if the seller is dodgy.

ChazTheGeek
09-07-2012, 07:45 PM
What makes you think that the seller is dodgy??

Nick G
09-07-2012, 08:07 PM
The place you purchased from may indeed be reputable.

But buying in person does not increase your chances of a successful warranty return if the seller is dodgy.
No, you are right. If the seller is dodgy,the seller is dodgy.

Agent_24
09-07-2012, 08:15 PM
What makes you think that the seller is dodgy??

Nothing. I never said that the seller in this case was dodgy.

I was only stating that IF (any) seller is dodgy, it probably isn't going to make much difference if you buy something from them in person or if you have it shipped, in terms of them wanting to honor a warranty properly.

As Nick G put it simply himself: If the seller is dodgy,the seller is dodgy.

ChazTheGeek
10-07-2012, 10:16 AM
Ok.