PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a laptop - with dial-up modem



Iantech
12-06-2012, 09:34 PM
I have a client on dial-up and their laptop (a Dell) has just crashed and burned - video memory has failed and the screen is all coloured blocks.
I havent seen a laptop for a few years now with built in modems still, does anyone know of anything about, client probably looking at around $1200ish to spend maybe.
Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks
Ian

Whenu
12-06-2012, 10:57 PM
Would a cable with a telephone wall plug on one end and the other that fits into the phone input on the lappie work?

CYaBro
12-06-2012, 11:02 PM
Also haven't seen a lappy with a modem for a very long time.
Even getting an external dial up modem is hard.
I think dick smith still have USB models so that may be the best bet.

Alex B
12-06-2012, 11:11 PM
You can still buy HP ProBooks with Dial up as an option.

Iantech
13-06-2012, 01:47 AM
Thanks for the help and suggestions, I'll check out the Probooks Alex, have a contact in The Laptop Co. that should be able to help there. CyaBro, yep, have also thought about a USB modem and can get a Netcomm AM5067 (no idea what they are like), so thats an option if all else fails. Whenu, great plan if the laptop has a phone input jack, only problem is most dont come with a modem now, so dont have a phone imput :)
Thanks for everyones help, it is appreciated.

Renegade
13-06-2012, 09:51 AM
I got a Netcomm for someone last week, had to send it back so hopefully it was an isolated dud! Wouldn't connect, kept handshaking a few times before giving up - we tested on 2 lines and different ISPs. The DSE model doesn't have Win7 64 bit drivers, but the Netcomm does.

Just noticed the DSE model on their site is now white, I got one of the older brown ones off the shelf so maybe the new model supports 64bit?

wratterus
13-06-2012, 04:36 PM
Satellite Pro L750s often had dial up modems, if you can still find one.

I've used a few Netcomm AM5067s, been good for me.

pcuser42
13-06-2012, 04:43 PM
Our Satellite Pro has a modem in it. It's an L500 from memory.

Iantech
13-06-2012, 06:04 PM
Sweet, thanks for the input, as the laptop never moves, the client has deceided to go for a desktop - makes it a hell of a lot easier for me. Laptop is now winging its way to Auckland to the insurance assessors.

Agent_24
13-06-2012, 06:11 PM
I would go with a USB modem, then you're not severely limited in laptop choice.

mzee
13-06-2012, 09:12 PM
I have a Dell Vostro laptop with a built in 56k modem. Also have a Dick Smith 56k USB modem for my desktop. I use them for FAX. The USB modem is very good, no set-up required. Shouldn't be a problem with 64bit.