PDA

View Full Version : First PC build help.

FlightOfGrey
06-06-2012, 01:06 PM
Hi, I have recently been looking into building a PC after lots of reports that they're cheaper and more customisable. I have never built a PC before but I thought it would be interesting to give it a try and to understand how everything comes together. I had also read about it often being better to have a shop to build one for you.

Now I was wondering if I could get some reccomendations on which is better, getting a shop to build one or do it yourself, a reccomendation of places that do build PCs (I live in Wellington) or a reccomendation on where to buy particular parts.

I'm a university student completing a double degree in Computer Science and Design, so I do a reasonable amount of video and image editing and compiling so it would be great if I could get those tasks completed a bit quicker than my current laptop which is feeling the strain a bit. I also like to dabble in a bit of games on the side, so it would be nice if I could at least run the majority of games at a playable framerate, at the moment even Half Life 2 is a tad choppy at times on my laptop which doesn't have a seperate graphics card.

TL DR:
So DIY or get a shop to build it? Where to buy parts/which shops build PCs for a reasonable price and reliably?
Use video and photo editing software reasonably regularly and wouldn't mind the ability to play games on the side.

Any reccomendations?

dugimodo
06-06-2012, 02:00 PM
Shops don't charge much and you get the peace of mind of no quibbles over warranty claims due to DIY if it doesn't go well.
That said I build my own all the time and quite enjoy it. It's not that difficult if you can weild a screwdriver and have a bit of patience.
Good shops IMO are
http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/
http://www.pp.co.nz/
http://www.pbtech.co.nz/

A few tips;