PDA

View Full Version : Graphics card when only available slot is PCIe x 1



Tukapa
02-06-2012, 05:37 PM
Hi all

As the title suggests - what are the options for adding a graphics card to a system with only a PCIe x1 slot available?

It's a small form factor Lenovo business PC with Vista Business and 3GB Ram.

Full specs here;

http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/product-and-parts/detail.page?DocID=PD012466

Thanks.

ChazTheGeek
02-06-2012, 06:06 PM
Does that mean speed of x1 or just one slot. If you are after a x1 card go to

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Zotac-NVIDIA-GeForce-8400-GS-256-MB-ZT-84MEG5M-HSL-PCI-Express-PCI-E-x1-not-x16-/261036590288?pt=PCC_Video_TV_Cards&hash=item3cc6fe44d0

http://www.ebay.com/itm/SFF-ATI-FIREMV-MV-2250-256MB-PCIE-x1-DMS-59-TV-WINDOWS-7-DUAL-DVI-SPLITTER-/261036484601?pt=UK_Computing_Computer_Components_G raphics_Video_TV_Cards_TW&hash=item3cc6fca7f9

None on trademe unless you want a 32MB card.

Slankydudl
02-06-2012, 06:37 PM
wow i didnt even know they made cards for a x1 slot... What are your other slots being used for?

Tukapa
02-06-2012, 06:41 PM
The only upgrade slots on the motherboard are 1 x PCI and 1 x PCIe x1.

The standard PCI will be used for another upgrade.

The first one you have linked to is a standard PCIe x16 card which the owner has physically modified by cutting all the excess pins off at the bottom. You can see the rough edges where that has been done. I've seen these mods before.

The second link however appears to be a genuine card. Might be cost prohibitive (but still a lot cheaper than what's available in NZ) but thanks for the links. There appear to be a lot of cheaper options there though.

Cheers.

ChazTheGeek
02-06-2012, 06:46 PM
wow i didnt even know they made cards for a x1 slot... What are your other slots being used for?

Do you think they made the slot for nothing? lol

Tukapa, what do you think of the cards?

icow
02-06-2012, 07:00 PM
Do you think they made the slot for nothing? lol

It was designed to replace pci.

@OP: Personally I'd get a PCI graphics card and use the 1x slot for your other upgrade. PCI cards are way more widely available anything that was originally on the pci bus e.g. sound cards are now also on pci-e 1x.

However if you must: http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=2010380048+1069620108&name=PCI+Express+x1 you'll need to find an NZ retailer though.

Tukapa
02-06-2012, 07:29 PM
@OP: Personally I'd get a PCI graphics card and use the 1x slot for your other upgrade. PCI cards are way more widely available anything that was originally on the pci bus e.g. sound cards are now also on pci-e 1x.

I'm beginning to think the same thing.

Cheers everyone.

Agent_24
04-06-2012, 12:42 AM
You won't get much performance out of a PCIe 1x or a PCI slot video card, unfortunately.

pctek
04-06-2012, 08:40 AM
what are the options for adding a graphics card to a system with only a PCIe x1 slot available?
.

Change the motherboard.

Slankydudl
04-06-2012, 08:41 AM
I figured pcie 1x slots were for other things such as network cards.

ChazTheGeek
04-06-2012, 08:57 AM
Ahh, well you know now that they aren't. Yeah, my new mobo says it can have quad SLI but only 3 PCI-Ex16 slots and 1 PCI-Ex1.

icow
04-06-2012, 10:15 AM
I figured pcie 1x slots were for other things such as network cards.

That's because they are. Pci-e 1x graphics cards aren't exactly common. The fact you see people cutting up pci-e 16x cards to make them work should tell you that.

Slankydudl
04-06-2012, 12:49 PM
lol could you imagine somone wanting quad sli and cutting up there amazing 680 to fit in the pcie 1x slot.

ChazTheGeek
04-06-2012, 12:52 PM
No, that..that is blasphemes. Terrible. Do people really do that, they better not.

Slankydudl
04-06-2012, 01:48 PM
Id hope only for a very low powered card... a 680 would be soooo rediculiously bottle necked on pcie 1x

ChazTheGeek
04-06-2012, 03:08 PM
Ha ha yeah :nerd:. All that power and only can work at a slower 1x mode :eek::eek: Dude, I don't even want to think about it.:waughh:

KarameaDave
04-06-2012, 05:49 PM
The bandwidth difference between PCI & PCI-e is worth considering IMO

Nomad
04-06-2012, 05:58 PM
Change the motherboard.

and the box, psu, ram ..... and possible cpu :p

PCIx isn't that soundcards, network cards, serial cards etc ..

icow
04-06-2012, 06:56 PM
Yeah pretty much anything that was on the old pci bus.

ChazTheGeek
04-06-2012, 07:16 PM
Hmmm

stratex5
04-06-2012, 08:34 PM
Hmmm

Hmmm?:)

ChazTheGeek
04-06-2012, 08:51 PM
Hmmm?:)

hmmmm

KarameaDave
04-06-2012, 08:55 PM
Whommmm?

stratex5
04-06-2012, 09:00 PM
Whatmmmm??

ChazTheGeek
05-06-2012, 04:45 PM
Nuthingmmmmmmmm.

Slankydudl
05-06-2012, 04:52 PM
Although I had my gpu on a x8 because the mobo was being stupid and it didnt seem to effect benchmarks and stuff.