PDA

View Full Version : New build



DeSade
30-05-2012, 09:09 PM
Its that time again :)

As you can see I am not replacing everything in this build.


GIGABYTE G1 SNIPER 3 INTEL Z77 IVY BRIDGE MOTHERBOARD
http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=16664

INTEL CORE I7 3770K IVY BRIDGE 3.50GHZ 8MB 95W LGA1155
http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=16621

Intel Liquid Cooling Solution RTS2011LC
http://www.pp.co.nz/products.php?pp_id=AA33453

OCZ VERTEX 4 256GB 2.5" INDILINX EVEREST 2 SATA3 (VTX4-25SAT3-256G)
http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=16578


I encourage you to comment and offer suggestions and opinions on my choice of parts, I value wide and varied opinions.
The processor is not finalized, the specs are a little low for my liking but its the only Ivy Bridge available.

icow
30-05-2012, 09:11 PM
What's it being used for? Because while the 3770k is great it probably isn't necessary.

DeSade
30-05-2012, 09:14 PM
Necessary does not factor in for me.
I buy the best I can with each build.

I would get a better processor but that is the best Ivy Bridge available currently.

icow
30-05-2012, 09:24 PM
Get a 3960K from amazon? They don't ship them direct to NZ so you'd have to setup some form of mail forwarding.

stratex5
30-05-2012, 09:36 PM
Heres where you can buy it Quote:


Heres whats on ebay. The price is around $960 + tax to come to nz. So it'll cost about $1200ish(i think:)) ( http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html/?_nkw=intel%203960&redirect=mobile)

icow
30-05-2012, 09:43 PM
Heres where you can buy it Quote:

That's a 3960X not a 3960K. A 3960K is $500US.

DeSade
31-05-2012, 10:07 AM
So processor aside for now.
How does the rest stack up?

pctek
31-05-2012, 10:35 AM
Nice, I'd happily put that in my PC. What GPU though?

DeSade
31-05-2012, 10:41 AM
I have a GTX 680 in there currently
I might get another but probably not

dugimodo
31-05-2012, 11:03 AM
Not really much to say, you've pretty much picked the best 1155 components available. The only way to improve would be to go for socket 2011 which is a huge cost increase for a minor gain. You could maybe consider a Crucial M4 or intel 520 series for their superior reputation for reliability, but performance wise there's not a lot in it.

DeSade
31-05-2012, 11:21 AM
If I go for the 2011 then I would have to go Sandy Bridge as I did not see any Ivy Bridge that would fit in the 2011 board.
And there are not that many 2011 boards out yet I don't see it as an issue.

Besides the 3rd Gen Ivy Bridge is 1155 so why would anyone want a 2011 board?

Why is the Intel SSD better than OCZ?
I have a Intel currently and no complaints but I have read good things about the OCZ.

dugimodo
31-05-2012, 11:43 AM
Well I personally wouldn't want a 2011 board, but some people might for the 6 core CPUs, Larger memory capacities due to typically more RAM slots, and more PCIe Lanes for multi GPU setups. None of which interests me at all but someone probably wants it. I assume an ivy bridge variant will find it's way onto that platform or it's successor at some point.

DeSade
31-05-2012, 12:08 PM
You are probably right at some point, but if you wait for "the next big thing" you never update :)

Iantech
31-05-2012, 12:34 PM
Yeh, I dont know the future of the 2011 range, I get the feeling it just replaced the 1366. And the 1366 never really went anywhere. With the new Haswell CPU coming out next year which has a 1150 socket, it doesnt really look like the 2011 socket will go far - well any further than the 1366 anyway.

The CPU/ Motherboard combo will (or should) work well together and yes, the intel water cooler seems to work good and is quiet - thats not to say it is better than a Antec, Thermaltake or Corsair etc, but I think it does a good job, although I just have my CPU set on 4.2GHz, so I'm not really pushing it to test what temp it can handle.

Have to say I know very little about SSDs really but I dont as yet fully trust any solid state storage device, I have seen many camera cards and flash drives become corrupt over the years so am a little reserved about depending on one. So I think you take a chance whatever make you get.

Nick G
31-05-2012, 01:36 PM
Looks like a nice setup. The cpu *sort of* beats my i5 2450m I think

DeSade
31-05-2012, 01:39 PM
Looks like a nice setup. The cpu *sort of* beats my i5 2450m I think

Is this an attempt at a joke?

Nick G
31-05-2012, 01:44 PM
I have CPU envy. Along with Graphic card, Ram, Mobo envy ;)

DeSade
31-05-2012, 01:46 PM
LOL
I thought for a moment there I might have had another CPU to evaluate :)

Slankydudl
31-05-2012, 09:30 PM
Lol Nick G you are so true.

DeSade
01-06-2012, 08:50 PM
I just realized that I forgot to add the ram to the list

MUSHKIN BLACKLINE FROSTBYTE 32GB (4X8GB) DDR3-1600 CL10 (994055)
http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=16602

icow
01-06-2012, 09:33 PM
So jealous, that ram is sick.

Slankydudl
01-06-2012, 10:21 PM
if your spendign that much money you might as well go with a custom liquid cooling solution... Generally any regular heat sync and fan cooler will do as well as a all in one liquid coolign setup... Get some cooland some tubing, pump, reservior, coolign blocks and a radiator and you will have cooling unmatcable by any regular air solution or all in one solution.

DeSade
01-06-2012, 10:38 PM
I don't trust water cooling, its a big step for me to even consider it and a sealed unit on the CPU is the most I am willing to do for now.
And the spend is less than half what I spent on the last build so meh.

Slankydudl
01-06-2012, 10:45 PM
well atleast try it sometime... it seems dodgey but as logn as you get good fittigns and all it should be fine... iv water cooled before and never had a problem, and obviously you test the entire loop outside of the case nto conencted for leakes and stuff for like a day

fred_fish
01-06-2012, 10:47 PM
Maybe this (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2012/05/25/immersive_cooling/) :)

icow
01-06-2012, 11:07 PM
This

Slankydudl
01-06-2012, 11:47 PM
Lol just dont put your hardrive inside it plz.

icow
02-06-2012, 12:29 AM
Would non-conductive oil damage a real hdd? not that it matters, hdd's are overrated. SSD's FTW

Slankydudl
02-06-2012, 01:05 AM
It wouldnt damage it but it would make it not work... Is a mechanical, it spins and if you put it in oild then it will slow down and the arm will probably do something. And the light will have to go through oil rather than air, also the motor being put in oil... Yes putting a mechanical hdd in oil will wreck it. And ssd's are not that great yet. They are supe fast but they lack sooooooooooooooo much in storage. For the price of a 250gb ssd i can get a 2tb hdd. Atm they are too expensive for your aberage consumer that doesnt need speed.

DeSade
02-06-2012, 01:13 AM
Actually for the price of a 250GB you can get 2x 2TB drives.