PDA

View Full Version : Computer just bluescreened



lakewoodlady
17-05-2012, 08:33 AM
As above. Here is the log. Any clues, anyone?

Mini051712-01.dmp 17/05/2012 8:14:35 a.m. DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL 0x000000d1 0x00000008 0x00000002 0x00000000 0x902757c5 32-bit C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini051712-01.dmp 4 15 6002 131,072


LL :eek:

Speedy Gonzales
17-05-2012, 08:38 AM
Install bluescreenview see what it says is the cause (http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/bluescreenview_setup.exe) <- direct link

WHEN did it crash?? What were you using / or doing when it crashed? Or get teamviewer install it. Send the ID and pw it gives you to me in a PM. And I'll have a look

pctek
17-05-2012, 11:55 AM
It's always either drivers or RAM.
Check Device manager, no drivers showing a problem?
Then check RAM.

lakewoodlady
17-05-2012, 02:33 PM
Install bluescreenview see what it says is the cause (http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/bluescreenview_setup.exe) <- direct link

WHEN did it crash?? What were you using / or doing when it crashed? Or get teamviewer install it. Send the ID and pw it gives you to me in a PM. And I'll have a look

Had just closed FFox and went to make a cuppa, when I came back it had crashed, bsod.
I have got Bluescreen view on it already. That was the log file from it. It showed no cause and no cause address.

It just did it again! I restarted it and ran Repair on it and hopefully I can download teamviewer and send you the ID and pw.

LL

lakewoodlady
17-05-2012, 02:39 PM
Pctek, nothing showing up in Device manager as abnormal.

LL

pctek
17-05-2012, 03:27 PM
RAM then, my work PC did that a few weeks ago. Behaved after until........a couple of weeks later I had 1 dead RAM module. Removed it, and oh joy, the MB died then too.
Then the ...well that's another story.

Just to be on the safe side, run a memory test.

lakewoodlady
17-05-2012, 03:33 PM
Thanks pctek, I have Memtest and I did run it some weeks ago when it bluescreened then. It did not find anything wrong. I will try it again and see what happens. Will be a bit tough to replace RAM in this machine. It's a bugger of a thing to get at, hidden underneath just about everything else.

Cheers, LL

lakewoodlady
17-05-2012, 03:35 PM
I have sent pm to speedy about using teamviewer, but I see that he is not on the forum at the moment.

LL

Speedy Gonzales
17-05-2012, 04:55 PM
Had a look. Odd that bluescreenview didnt list any files in the bottom window. Was told the previous version of the drivers crashed. So, these may have been the cause. So, we're going to try and uninstall the drivers that were installed (or the drivers that were there, when we rolled the drivers back (these crashed as well). And either try the files that are on the Acer site (which are pretty old). Or the ones that were working...2.80 i think they were

I dont know, if LL uninstalled the drivers that were there before first (before installing the later version). But, there's about 5-6 entries to do with the videocard (well Nvidia anyway - I take it theyre for the videocard), in Programs and features

lakewoodlady
17-05-2012, 04:58 PM
back to square 1. will try to find the original drivers, yes 2.80

Cheers LL

Speedy Gonzales
17-05-2012, 05:00 PM
OK. lets see if it crashes again. Make sure you uninstall all the Nvidia entries in programs and features to do with the video card first. Or try one of the 2 i downloaded. If you cant find 2.80

lakewoodlady
17-05-2012, 05:34 PM
Ok, found those 2.80 drivers and reinstalled same. Cross fingers, hopefully all ok now!

LL

Speedy Gonzales
17-05-2012, 05:38 PM
Sweet! You did uninstall the ones that were installed first right?

lakewoodlady
17-05-2012, 09:46 PM
Yes, did that, son is using it now, all seems to be ok at the mo.

Cheers, LL

Speedy Gonzales
17-05-2012, 10:36 PM
Thats good

lakewoodlady
19-05-2012, 02:03 PM
OK, it froze today while I was playing solitaire. Restarted, then it bsod after two minutes. Restarted then bsod on boot up! Restarted and ran Repair. Results showed 1 root cause. No idea what it was though. Just running Malwarebytes scheduled full scan, if it lasts that long!
Could it be a RAM problem after all? And would it be the system RAM or the Nvidia card RAM?

LL

Speedy Gonzales
19-05-2012, 02:05 PM
I would try another videocard, if you've got one. Uninstall the Nvidia drivers again, if you do

lakewoodlady
19-05-2012, 02:39 PM
No, I don't have another to try.
I did try disabling the nvidia in device manager and just using the win vista graphics, but then of course you can't play any games lol! However, I might just do that again and leave it disabled for a few hours. That could prove whether it is the nvidia card or not, if it doesn't crash. What think you?

LL

8ftmetalhaed
19-05-2012, 02:55 PM
X08 is one I've run into a few times, it's always been my graphics card crashing for some reason or another. Usually when I'm messing around with it. ATI here though.

lakewoodlady
19-05-2012, 03:33 PM
I read through the bumpf that came with the machine when son bought it and it has an extended warranty, which expires in July this year. But the user guide and specs says it has a GeForce 7100 and it actually has the GeForce gt 210. So I have no idea what that's all about! I am fairly sure that we did not change it, but to be really sure, I will phone Millennium Tech on Monday. (That is where I normally get stuff).

LL

lakewoodlady
22-05-2012, 06:41 PM
I read somewhere that bsod can be caused by router. I went into FF and put a tick beside "Auto Detect proxy server". It has been ok since I did that, no freeze and no bsod since then. It was just a last resort in trying that, so could that have done it?

LL

Speedy Gonzales
22-05-2012, 06:43 PM
It shouldnt crash whether that option is ticked or not. Mines on no proxy

lakewoodlady
22-05-2012, 07:31 PM
Well, I did think that, but what the heck. It has been ok since I did that, but I guess that's just a coincidence anyway. LOL

Ll

Speedy Gonzales
22-05-2012, 07:35 PM
Yup does seem strange

SolMiester
23-05-2012, 11:28 AM
Memory issue's mostly manifest as a lock or computer freeze, NOT BSOD, that is driver\hardware issues!

dugimodo
23-05-2012, 12:00 PM
Just a comment on memtest, depending on the version sometimes you have to push "T" to start the extended tests. I've had RAM that passed the standard 6 tests but failed on test 7 in extended test mode. I'm probably remembering an out of date memtest though :)

8ftmetalhaed
23-05-2012, 04:44 PM
I think the way to test it would be to change that setting back and do something till it breaks again.

lakewoodlady
23-05-2012, 06:31 PM
I think the way to test it would be to change that setting back and do something till it breaks again.

My first thoughts too, but son says, "its fine now, don't wreck it!". It is his computer after all.

LL

ChazTheGeek
23-05-2012, 08:18 PM
... "its fine now, don't wreck it!". It is his computer after all.

LL

I know how that feels......

8ftmetalhaed
24-05-2012, 10:07 PM
well who paid for it?

lakewoodlady
25-05-2012, 10:14 AM
He did. I am the one who keeps it running smoothly though. It is OK at the mo and has been for a week now.

LL

ChazTheGeek
26-05-2012, 10:25 AM
That's good.

lakewoodlady
26-05-2012, 07:54 PM
Computer froze at 12.30pm today while on PC World forums, and then again at 6.50 pm while son was on Sturmovic. It bsod very shortly after.
Mini052612-01.dmp 26/05/2012 7:10:07 p.m. IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL 0x0000000a 0x00000000 0x0000001b 0x00000001 0x82ce1645 32-bit C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini052612-01.dmp 4 15 6002 131,072


No cause, no address, no driver errors.

? LL

ChazTheGeek
27-05-2012, 04:32 PM
How about the graphics card. I have had problems similar to these because of a faulty card, I suggest you take a look at it or (if possible) change cards.

pctek
27-05-2012, 04:37 PM
Computer froze at 12.30pm today while on PC World forums, and then again at 6.50 pm while son was on Sturmovic. It bsod very shortly after.
Mini052612-01.dmp 26/05/2012 7:10:07 p.m. IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL 0x0000000a 0x00000000 0x0000001b 0x00000001 0x82ce1645 32-bit C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini052612-01.dmp 4 15 6002 131,072


No cause, no address, no driver errors.

? LL

RAM. What killed mine at work - and there were no defining errors shown until id crapped out comepletely was a dodgy power board.
Check both - some of those boards, the plugs don't sit right down in them and arc.

ChazTheGeek
27-05-2012, 04:48 PM
Could be anything eh. From MB to PSU.

lakewoodlady
27-05-2012, 09:10 PM
I uninstalled both Chrome and FF 12 this afternoon and things are ok at the moment. (Numerous BSOD and freezes just prior to that )Got it sitting up on the bench with the side off, lol, wondering if I should take things out/put things in etc. Lots of things in there between the MB and PSU, as you say, could be anything!
Don't have another Graphics card to try, If it's RAM, I'll have to take it somewhere to get it replaced. It is a real puzzle, and so random and intermittent, grrr!

LL

ChazTheGeek
28-05-2012, 07:47 AM
Does the computer have on board graphics?? If so, try running it off that and see if there is any difference.

lakewoodlady
28-05-2012, 08:32 AM
Been there tried that, disabled nvidia card, but couldn't play games, or open any graphics. I didn' give it long enough to crash. As I said its fine at the moment, will put it back together later. Gotta go teach at SeniorNet now.

LL

Chilling_Silence
28-05-2012, 12:21 PM
One more thing, grab Speccy, free from here: http://www.piriform.com/speccy/download/standard


Fire up Speccy, note down the temperature of the CPU, Graphics card, and (if available) the motherboard
Play a game for about 2-3 minutes, give it a real thrashing (Make lots of smoke and explosions happen), then Alt+tab to Speccy and quickly jot down the temperatures.

Try it another 3-4x to give you 10-15 minutes worth and see if you notice a trend, and if you can make it crash.

Post the results :)

lakewoodlady
28-05-2012, 02:02 PM
Thanks for that Chill. I may try that later on, will get son to do lots of stuff on it with Carrara and play games. Will also get Speccy and check the temperatures. I have it up on the bench at the mo with the side off, so it is probably running cooler than normally would with side on and down in the cubbyhole in the desk.

Thought I might try putting things back on it one at a time and that might indicate something as well.

LL

ChazTheGeek
28-05-2012, 04:37 PM
Good idea, I used speecy when I replaced dad's CPU.

lakewoodlady
28-05-2012, 09:31 PM
Speccy is great! Brings up all the specs, as suggested by the name. Don't know why I didn't get it before. I have SIW, but Speccy is better I think.
It will be a slow process though, trying to find the exact cause of the problem.

LL.

ChazTheGeek
29-05-2012, 07:52 AM
That's what it's all about.

linw
29-05-2012, 08:42 AM
@LL, makes you grateful you are not trying to make a living from this, eh?!!

Good luck in your quest.

lakewoodlady
29-05-2012, 09:38 AM
Thanks linw, it's just a hobby with me!

LL