PDA

View Full Version : Skype will not work



deebly
27-04-2012, 05:23 PM
I have a Dell Inspiron one running Windows 7 64bit and Firefox 12 as default browser. Sometime last year Skype stopped working on this machine. Not sure when as I also have Skype on my Vista laptop and iPad. I uninstalled using Revo then CCleaner. Downloaded and reinstalled several times but only get a small Skype screen with minimal commands, and also shows an icon with a white blob in the quick launch bar, none of which will start the program. Have tried Skype Support Network fixes without success. Windows Firewall settings are as per Skype recommendation.

wainuitech
27-04-2012, 11:15 PM
Welcome to PF1.

Can you do a screen shot of what you are actually getting please and post it back here, may make it a little easier to figure out whats actually happening.

Even though you mentioned "Have tried Skype Support Network fixes without success" that really doesn't mean much as it doesn't actually say what you have tried specifically for the problem you are getting. Could be one of many things.

deebly
28-04-2012, 01:01 PM
Thanks Wainuitech
Thanks, have a screen shot but how do I send it??

Trev
28-04-2012, 01:37 PM
Post in advance mode and at the bottom click on manage attachments and you will get an option to upload it.
:)

deebly
28-04-2012, 02:46 PM
Following one Skype fix, I renamed the login folder to login1. This gave me the full Skype screen but no contacts. The 64bit fix for that would not work. Would like to send the screen shot but cannot see "Manage attachments" anywhere on the advanced screen! Must be me!

stu161204
28-04-2012, 03:21 PM
Would like to send the screen shot but cannot see "Manage attachments" anywhere on the advanced screen! Must be me!

Under the Quick Reply box, on the right hand side there is a button called "Go Advanced" click on that,

then under "Post Icons" there is a box called "Additional Options" under that there is a section called "Attachments", click on the button called "Manage Attachments"

then once that box opens up, click on "Add files" on the top right hand side and look for where you have saved that screens shot.

If that does not work try uploading it to ImageF1: http://www.imagef1.net.nz, and post the image link here.

Hope this helps :)

Speedy Gonzales
28-04-2012, 03:31 PM
Unless you need 10 posts. Like you do for PM's

deebly
28-04-2012, 04:53 PM
Under Additional options I have Subscription and nothing else. The next thing that appears is Topic Review.

stratex5
28-04-2012, 05:00 PM
Try posting 6 more messages then have a look.

stu161204
28-04-2012, 05:50 PM
Under Additional options I have Subscription and nothing else. The next thing that appears is Topic Review.

ok, in that case upload the screen shot here: http://www.imagef1.net.nz/ and post the link here :)

deebly
29-04-2012, 09:18 AM
Done that thanks. The link is http://www.imagef1.net.

deebly
30-04-2012, 05:52 PM
Tried yesterday,obviously no good. should have read Help. Have uploaded link is http://www.imagef1.net.nz/upload/skype1.jpg