PDA

View Full Version : Compaq CQ62 not turning on



camo
20-04-2012, 10:08 PM
Hi there,

I have a Compaq CQ62 laptop which will not turn on. It was working just fine yesterday...

When you plug it in to the mains, there is no lights anywhere on the charger.

After a hard reset (removing charger and battery and holding power down for 30 secs) the orange charging light comes on. The light eventually goes white (fully charged) but when you press the power button, the power light flashes for half a second, then nothing.

No fans noises, screen action etc. Just the power light flashes, and after that it will not charge again....until you do another hard reset!!

Help?

GameJunkie
20-04-2012, 11:28 PM
dead mobo?

CYaBro
21-04-2012, 12:34 AM
Have you tried it without the battery?

camo
21-04-2012, 11:09 AM
I have tried it without the battery, with the same results. Could it be the power adaptor, or the AC plug on the laptop which plugs into the mobo?

I am about to try anther Compaq power adaptor. Will post results!

feersumendjinn
21-04-2012, 12:14 PM
or the AC plug on the laptop which plugs into the mobo?
The AC socket can break off the motherboard quite easily (common); also there is a built-in switch in that socket which should signal to the mobo what power mode you're in (AC or battery), that can get bent/loose/dirty.

Recommend you get it looked at professionally.

camo
23-04-2012, 11:11 PM
Yep, so.

Tried a different Compaq power lead....no dice.

Took it to bits and tried to sort out DC jack....took it out, gave it a bit of a clean, and put it back in.

When battery is out, you can plug in the lead, and the jack lights up.

Once you press the power button, it flashes for half a second and ALL lights go out. The jack light doesn't come back on again unless you do a hard reset...then the same thing happens again!

I'm losing hair over this.

1101
24-04-2012, 10:17 AM
It's probhably a power circuit fault, inside the actual laptop.
You'll be looking at around $200-$300 for a repair. Take it to someone who can do board level repairs on laptops(not someone who will just want to replace the whole motherboard $$$$$$$$$$$)

ChazTheGeek
24-04-2012, 11:27 AM
Compaqs, Compaqs, Compaqs...........

camo
24-04-2012, 10:35 PM
UPDATE:

I can now get it to turn on! Using the faulty HDD I was trying to replace in the first place.

It turns on and tries to boot with the faulty HDD (Seagate Momentus SATA 500GB 7200.4)

It doesn't turn on at all with the new drive (Seagate Momentus SATA 160GB 7200.4)

Happy that it's not a MOBO prob, but what could cause this?

Speedy Gonzales
24-04-2012, 10:45 PM
The old hdd is it SATA 2 or 3? The one that doesnt work, is it SATA 2 or 3? What does the Compaq support? SATA 2 or 3?

camo
24-04-2012, 10:58 PM
Faulty (factory) HDD is SATA2 3.0gbs
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822148374

New HDD is SATA2 3.0gbs
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822148652

Thanks for all your help so far guys, you have already saved me a very expensive repair job!!

Speedy Gonzales
24-04-2012, 11:16 PM
Maybe the new hdd is faulty or something? Put it in a desktop and see if its detected

ChazTheGeek
25-04-2012, 03:23 PM
Yeah......

icow
25-04-2012, 06:00 PM
http://bizsupport1.austin.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&taskId=110&prodSeriesId=4113092&prodTypeId=321957&objectID=c01997899#TestHardDrive

Any help?