PDA

View Full Version : Some Urgent Advice Needed



Luppi
14-03-2012, 02:32 AM
Hey guys.

This is not an actual problem in the typical sense, but i would like to see some professional advice before i go right ahead and screw up my PC.

I have a Pentium Dual-Core E6500 @2.9 GHz, 4 GB RAM DDR3, Gygabyte G31M-ES2L Motherboard, 500 GB HDD, and running Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64 with latest February 2012 updates, including Framework .4.

The reason i haven't mentioned my video card yet is because that's where i've had my problems. My original video card was an ATI Radeon HD 4600. About 6 months ago, i had the ventilator on it go sour, making awful sounds, so i sent the entire PC into warranty. Instead of just mending the ventilator, they have completely replaced my card with a HIS Radeon HD 5570 card, 1 GB also. Now, here's when the problems started. Once i got my PC back from warranty, the first time i actually tried turning it on, it went straight to blue-screen, citing atikmdag.sys as a reason. I have no idea if they actually turned my PC on after mounting the new video-card to check if it worked or they just sent it like that assuming it will, but on the first start, i got a BSOD. That day, i tried to fix the problem all day long and finally, after using DriverSweeper in SafeMode and deleting every shread of ATI i could find, i installed the VERY OLD 10.5 driver which came with the HIS card and it ran from then on.

Then, a week ago, i installed Battlefield 3, which prompted me that my 10.5 driver version was too low and i should update to a new one right away. So i thought what the hell, it's been 6 months, maybe ATI sorted their sh!t out and the new Catalyst 12.1 won't have any issues. I downloaded the latest HIS Catalyst 12.1 from hisdigital.com, being the latest CatalystControlCenter and the latest available driver for my HIS card, marked 27/2/2012. During the install, what do you know! BSOD. This time, it referenced atikmPAG.sys, not atikmDAG.sys. So i do my thing, reboot into safe mode, use DriverSweeper to remove ATI completely, reboot normally and try the install again using the basic Windows 7 video drivers loaded up. This time, the install strangely finishes, WITH ERRORS (i could not read the log to see what the errors were for the sake of me), i reboot, no BSOD, i try to run BF3 and COD3:MW and they work like a charm, but now i cannot open CatalystControlCenter.

A very strange thing is the following: If i check an app like Ccleaner for example, my video card shows as being ATI Radeon HD4600, and NOT my new HIS HD 5570 card. However, specialised video apps like GPU-Z recognise my card to be HIS HD 5570 with the latest drivers installed.

Now, i sort of whipped up a plan in my head as to definitively get rid of all the problems, and i've determined the following, which i would like to know is correct or not:

1) Since my new video card was placed in the same PCI slot on my Motherboard as the old video card, that's where the conflict between certain apps like Ccleaner not showing the right model come from.
2) Also, for the same reason, when i first fired up my PC six months ago, the MB didn't have the correct "correlation" between the new card and it, and also there was the existing conflict of the old ATI-specific drivers being installed on my hard-drive which lead to the atikmdag.sys error.

If these two assumptions i made are correct, i am planning to do the following:

1) Reinstall a CLEAN copy of Windows 7 ultimate. Format my entire PC in the process, delete every driver and every trace along with it.
2) Update my motherboard BIOS - I have version FF and according to the Gygabite site, the current available version is FI.
3) After clean reinstall and motherboard update, download the newest possible drivers for the HIS card from hisdigital.com and install on the clean base.
4) Check for any errors.

Hopefully, this chain of action could rid me of any BSOD's and CCC not opening in the future. I read somewhere that CatalystControlCenter doesn't open anymore because there is a corruption in a Windows folder that handles the ATI registry keys. They suggested i should delete that, then reinstall the entire ATI suite and it will work again. However, i'm guessing that the Windows reinstall with formating will rid me of those keys, right? On a further note, by updating my motherboard bios, i can maybe get rid of the MB recognising my old card, which will lead to my new card being read properly. Some people have suggested i should also upgrade my VGA bios, but, sadly, after long searches, i could not find ANY VGA Bios for my HIS 5570. It seems like i could find a VGA bios for every other HIS card out there, except this one. I have no idea what's up with that.

And last but not least, how different are the drivers from the ATI site compared to the ones on the HIS site? ATI has the newest CCC suite, driver included, updated on the 7'th of March 2012, whilst the last HIS suite and driver update was on the 27'th of February 2012. Would my HIS card work with drivers downloaded from the ATI site for the ATI RADEON HD 5570, or do i need the specific HIS drivers from hisdigital?

I hope somebody can give me some advice on my chain of thought,

Thanks.

pctek
14-03-2012, 06:45 AM
That day, i tried to fix the problem all day long and finally, after deleting every shread of ATI i could find, i installed the VERY OLD 10.5 driver which came with the HIS card and it ran from then on.

i installed Battlefield 3, which prompted me that my 10.5 driver version was too low and i should update to a new one right away.


1) Reinstall a CLEAN copy of Windows 7 ultimate. Format my entire PC in the process, delete every driver and every trace along with it.
2) Update my motherboard BIOS - I have version FF and according to the Gygabite site, the current available version is FI.
3) After clean reinstall and motherboard update, download the newest possible drivers for the HIS card from hisdigital.com and install on the clean base.
4) Check for any errors.


First, the driver was wrong because they different model of card in, so they should have reinstalled it.

Second, just because a game complains is no reason to update a driver. If the card was fine, then you should have left it alone.

Theird reformatting Windows is a seriously overkill way to fix a driver problem.

Of course ATI is the place to get the driver. Clean it out again first.

Get the latest for your card. If it doesn't like it, then go back one.

Chilling_Silence
14-03-2012, 07:54 AM
I'm with pctek, seems a little overkill, provided you're not mucking around with registry cleaners over and above ccleaner.

That said, some times its just time to do a full wipe and start over again. Personally I'd be careful about BIOS updates, the potential to go wrong and fubar everything is there.

Luppi
14-03-2012, 10:15 AM
Yes, that's exactly it, sometimes you just feel the need to start over again.

But basically, do you guys think that the main problem with the driver lies in the actual old drivers being there? Because i got BSOD even after cleaning out everything and reinstalling a new driver.

Chilling_Silence
14-03-2012, 10:27 AM
Yup that'd be my guess.