PDA

View Full Version : Driver for TWAIN on Windows 7



GrahamB
06-03-2012, 08:50 PM
I have an old but reliable Flatbed Scanner 23 [3300/4400] and have just updated to a new Windows 7 computer [32 Bit]. After looking around for a compatible driver i joined up with a site, paying good dough for just one driver, only to find that it does not have a compatible driver for this equipment after all!

Does anyone know where I can get one, preferrably free?

I find this strange, needing a driver: even my old (make that VERY old) Photoshop 6 runs on the new machine, but a simple Twain scanner will not!!

TFYH

GrahamB

Speedy Gonzales
06-03-2012, 08:51 PM
If its too old, Win7 probably doesnt support it. If there's no driver on the manufacturer's site, there wont be one at all. You may have to get a more modern scanner

plod
06-03-2012, 08:55 PM
Have you looked to see if PS recognises the scanner? There are twain plugins for PS

Nomad
07-03-2012, 12:30 PM
Try this site, they may work, but at $40USD
http://www.hamrick.com/

You can try the demo - which has a watermark to see if it works first.

gary67
07-03-2012, 12:32 PM
which version of Win7 as you could possibly use XP mode, surprised no one else suggested it

GrahamB
12-03-2012, 11:35 PM
PS 6 recognises it on my XP Pro machine. PS 6 works OK on Win 7 BUT does not recognise scanner!

GrahamB
12-03-2012, 11:37 PM
I have Windows 7 Pro 32 Bit. What is involved in using XP mode? What are the downsides, and can I do it with this set up? If so how?
THYH

gary67
13-03-2012, 07:54 AM
Not sure how as I only have home premium which doesn't have XP mode, I think you right click and select XP or something. It is XP in a virtual machine so should not have any downsides

1101
13-03-2012, 10:39 AM
I find this strange, needing a driver

this is 100% normal. It's a completely new Operation System.

Alot of older scanners & MFC's have issues with Windows7 , even $1000+ MFC's that are less than 5 years old (yes,talkin bout you HP) :badpc:

The manufacturers have decided its just to old to be bother writing a win7 driver for it.

Speedy Gonzales
13-03-2012, 07:49 PM
XP mode is a separate download ( about 469mb). You download then install it. Then select XP mode from the menu (it'll install XP, which comes with its own key). It works fine with this cam. Haven't tried it with a scanner yet. But it'll probably work, once you install a program for it