PDA

View Full Version : IDE boot drive with SATA adapter, possible?



systm
29-02-2012, 09:34 PM
Kia Ora

I have recently replaced my motherboard, which is turn means switching from IDE to SATA

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3992#ov

I am on a budget and can't really afford a new hard drive at the moment, so I am wondering if my old 40GB IDE hard drive will be able to be used as my boot drive if I use a SATA > IDE adapter?

Any help would be appreciated :)

wainuitech
29-02-2012, 10:42 PM
Yes you can do that, as per the start of This Video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UtHJnMlDAY) Hardest part would be finding an adaptor.

systm
29-02-2012, 10:59 PM
Yes you can do that, as per the start of This Video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UtHJnMlDAY) Hardest part would be finding an adaptor.

So all I would need is something like this?

http://www.trademe.co.nz/computers/components/hard-drives/sata/auction-451964557.htm

The main question I guess I have is, will the hard drive then be bootable?

pcuser42
01-03-2012, 06:16 AM
You might need to reinstall Windows but the hard drive will be bootable.

dugimodo
01-03-2012, 08:31 AM
I have heard the adapters are sometimes problematic. Maybe a cheap controller card with IDE would be better, then again a 2nd hand SATA drive might cost less if you shop around. On the other hand looking at your link, $5 isn't much to risk. I have given away larger hard drives than yours in the past :lol:

systm
01-03-2012, 09:41 AM
Thank you for all the replies. Much appreciated :)

Agent_24
01-03-2012, 12:59 PM
Yes you can do that, as per the start of This Video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UtHJnMlDAY) Hardest part would be finding an adaptor.

The hardest part is finding an adapter that isn't ****.

I tried this same idea with my latest build which only had 1 IDE port instead of 2. I bought two of those cheap IDE -> SATA adapters from eBay and they did not work very well.

They only worked with HDDs (not CD\DVD drives as I wanted them for) and even then they would cause BSOD errors when I enabled AHCI on my SATA controller.


I have heard the adapters are sometimes problematic. Maybe a cheap controller card with IDE would be better

This is what I did eventually. Gave up trying to use the adapters I bought and a cheap IDE card was cheaper anyway than it would have cost to buy 2 decent adapters.