PDA

View Full Version : winmodem



24-10-2001, 05:07 PM
How can I tell whether or not my modem is a winmodem or not. It is in a PCI slot.

Cheers all
JM

24-10-2001, 06:34 PM
Usually winmodems will tell you in the box. It says something like 'Requires Windows 9X'. Basically a winmodem is one which is reliant on windows dependant software rather than handling everything in hardware and then writing drivers for various platforms to operate the hardware.

24-10-2001, 06:48 PM
If you paid less than $150 for it, and it's not an IBM or US Robotics (3com) brand, then I can almost guarantee that it's a winmodem.

I suggest you replace it with one of the above brands, or with a serial external. Do *not* buy a USB external, because most of these are winmodems also.

24-10-2001, 06:58 PM
Almost certainly it will be a winmodem as most recent pci modems are.

24-10-2001, 09:08 PM
the proper way is to look at the chip that it uses. i came accross a site a while ago which gave a break down on the chips used, which brand and if it was a hard/soft modem. handy for sorting out those noname modems.