PDA

View Full Version : PC gaming lag...?

thisisntmyusername
23-01-2012, 10:31 PM
Hi there to the seasoned PC gamers, I'm a seasoned PC noob, just made the jump from Xbox, so bear with me.

I just built a up a PC from scratch, these are the important specs.

64 Bit Win 7
Asus p8x68/Gen-3 MB
i5 2500k at 3.3ghz CPU
16gb Corsair Vengeance Ram
Nvidia Gtx560 Ti 1gb GPU
Corsair HX750 PSU
1TB seagate HDD over SATA

Now, that's my first PC build I've done. When I play Bf3 it can take anywhere between 45 seconds to 2 minutes to load a good size map i.e. Kharg, Caspian, sometimes even Metro, and I'm getting at least half a second if not more lag during gameplay, which at PC's gameplay speed is killer, by the time I am able to react I'm dead. Can anyone with a similar spec offer advice on BF3 video settings? I run an average of 1.5mb/s on a DS3 connection so I'm pretty sure it couldn't be a connection lag. A mate of mine also running an i5 2500k but with 8gb ram and a lesser GPU isn't getting anywhere near as much lag as I am, plus he's on a DS2 connection which caps at 1mb/s.

Am I completely missing something?

Any help would be awesome.

Also while I'm here, looking at my system activity its indicating that while I'm idling with nothing but windows 7 on the desktop, it's using 1.6gb of ram out of the 16gb, and that seems very excessive to me, is it normal?

Snorkbox
23-01-2012, 10:52 PM
So which ISP are you using? Also which ISP is your mate using?

Alex B
23-01-2012, 11:02 PM
Yes that's normal ram usage, look up super fetch for more info.

sk69ersnz
24-01-2012, 06:25 AM
The loading times are pretty long but you get used to it.
Try this http://www.geforce.com/Optimize/OPS/Battlefield-3-NVIDIA-GeForce-GTX-560-Ti-OPS

Make sure your drivers are up to date.You will lag a bit at the start of each map but it comes right.

dugimodo
24-01-2012, 06:48 AM