PDA

View Full Version : Vodafone dongle reliability



Whenu
14-01-2012, 09:28 PM
Yello, looking to put a lappie in a remote place and transmit pictures to a server.
My question is how reliable are the dongles for an unattended installation?
The area has coverage.
Cheers

mikebartnz
15-01-2012, 01:46 AM
As far as I know they are pretty good.

Chilling_Silence
15-01-2012, 08:15 AM
I don't understand? Can you explain a little more on what you're trying to achieve, as well as 'unattended installation'?

Whenu
15-01-2012, 09:19 AM
A while back I was asked to see about putting a surf camera system together. I've got the lense and lappie sorted out to run plugged into a BB connection. Now the idea has changed to using a set up that is nowhere near a landline connection so have been wondering how reliable a dongle is for an installation that is stand-alone and too far away to be going to every day or two to press a button to reset.

wainuitech
15-01-2012, 10:59 AM
You have to look very close at those types of connections, they can cost a bundle if on 24/7

Whenu
15-01-2012, 12:51 PM
Might give one a try this week and see how it goes

Whenu
18-01-2012, 12:50 PM
Well, got the dongle yesterday, installed and all went well. Left it connected overnight and now it's not working, says to insert Sim card, tried the dongle in 2 other computors with varying degrees of failure, one (Vista)says to insert the Sim card,
The dongle has a red flashing light which I take means no connection, the dongle was quite warm to the touch this morning as well.
Don't know how related this info is but the usb ports aren't working now

1101
18-01-2012, 01:13 PM
You have to look very close at those types of connections, they can cost a bundle if on 24/7

Good advice. Ive heard horror stories of $4000 phone bills being racked up (lappies not not even on 24/7)
Try it with a prepay dongle 1st .

Whenu
18-01-2012, 01:50 PM
have it as a pre-pay

gary67
18-01-2012, 01:50 PM
Well, got the dongle yesterday, installed and all went well. Left it connected overnight and now it's not working, says to insert Sim card, tried the dongle in 2 other computors with varying degrees of failure, one (Vista)says to insert the Sim card,
The dongle has a red flashing light which I take means no connection, the dongle was quite warm to the touch this morning as well.
Don't know how related this info is but the usb ports aren't working now

Are they working if you do a reboot? Is anything showing any errors in device manager?

Whenu
18-01-2012, 03:19 PM
Rebooted and all seems to be well, no warnings in the USB section of device manager, only a warning for some other device

Whenu
19-01-2012, 10:48 AM
Have had it running now for nearly 24 hrs, used about 10.5 mb.
I would like to see if the connection can be turned on and off automatically, would I use a batch-file to do this?
The connection wizard runs ib the background all the time.

1101
19-01-2012, 12:07 PM
Perhaps a 3rd party firewall that can limit internet access to certain times??

Whenu
19-01-2012, 01:06 PM
Might have to have a rethink about using the dongle, cut out again