PDA

View Full Version : Show Anroid tablet on home LAN



gary67
13-01-2012, 12:21 PM
Since we have a nice shiny new Tablet running Droid 3.2 I want to get it showing on my home network and so that it can have access to shared folders on the Windows desktops and Amahi server.

But how do you add Android to a Home network?

fred_fish
13-01-2012, 12:29 PM
https://duckduckgo.com/?q=add+Android+to+a+Home+network

BBCmicro
13-01-2012, 12:38 PM
On my Sony Tablet (Android 3.2) I clicked scan for access points, marvelled at how well it picked up the neighbour's, then chose my own. It said "WPS available" so I pressed a button on the access point (Netcomm NP-121 wireless bridge, local end) then clicked on something that Android presented at me. I think that was all I had to do, possibly a router reboot.

(The Dlink router is set to assigning addresses via DHCP, I'm not sure whether I set DHCP in the Android or whether it was on by deafult.)

After pressing the WPS button on the access point, I thought I would have to run around and press buttons on other devices (within the 2 minutes) - to re-set them because it was assigning a new security code. But I didn't have to do that.

Edit: thereafter it was a matter of looking again at Wainuitech's Youtube video on sharing Win7 folders

gary67
13-01-2012, 05:23 PM
Halfway there, can now access server from tablet just need to sort out the samba shares to make tablet show on windows network

Geek4414
13-01-2012, 06:21 PM
Have a look at these ...

http://www.pcworld.com/businesscenter/article/238025/share_files_wirelessly_between_android_and_any_com puter.html

http://www.appbrain.com/app/samba-filesharing/com.funkyfresh.samba

https://market.android.com/details?id=com.funkyfresh.samba&hl=en

https://market.android.com/details?id=xcxin.filexpert&hl=en

gary67
13-01-2012, 06:31 PM
Yeah once I can pry it off SWMBO I'll get it done. She is using but I'm sick excuse to hang on to it

Chilling_Silence
14-01-2012, 06:06 AM
Pretty good excuse if you ask me ;)

I just stick with Astro File Manager + the SMB Plugin. Never bothered with running a daemon on the tablet, seems better to do it the other way around personally...

gary67
14-01-2012, 08:08 AM
Thanks Chill will look at Astro, when I googled it came up with ES file manager but of course doesn't have the the SMB plugin