PDA

View Full Version : How do I email from Word?

22-10-2001, 02:36 PM
Whenever I try to email directly from the Word document I get the following message:

The host 'ZFREE' could not be found. Please verify that you have entered the server name correctly. Account: 'zfree', Server: 'ZFREE', Protocol: SMTP, Port: 25, Secure(SSL): No, Socket Error: 11001, Error Number: 0x800CCC0D

Is it something in the settings? I am fairly new to Internet.I have not co ntacted zfree yet as I have had no response to two earlier problems.

22-10-2001, 03:58 PM
The first step is to create a Dial Up Networking Connection.

Double click on MY COMPUTER, double click on DIAL UP NETWORKING, (delete any existing or unused connection icons) double click on MAKE NEW CONNECTION.

For the name, delete 'My Connection' and type in your ISP, then click NEXT.

For the number type in your ISP's number

Click NEXT, click FINISH.

Right click (right mouse button) once on your ISP, and left click on PROPERTIES.

Click on SERVER TYPES. Remove the ticks from Log On To Network, Enable Software Compression, Netbeui and IPX/SPX Compatible. This will leave you with one tick for TCP/IP. Click OK. (Click OK again if you are not back in DIAL UP NETWORKING)

Right click on your ISP. Left click on CREATE SHORTCUT. Click YES when prompted to put the shortcut on the desktop.

Close DIAL UP NETWORKING (and MY COMPUTER if it is still open).

On the desktop you should have a new icon called: Shortcut to your ISP

This is your connection to your ISP, it is how you dial in with your ISP to become connected to the internet.

Double click on 'Shortcut to your ISP '. Delete the username, type in your ISP username and password.

When connected you can open your browser (Internet Explorer, Netscape etc) or your email program (Outlook Express).

To disconnect, double click 'Shortcut to your ISP ' and click disconnect.